You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Walk With Me [5] - Saunter in the Siuslaw National Forest - Part 2

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Now I actually know a few of these. The foxglove I had heard of before. Is that also dangerous to pets? I know here the skunk cabbage is always in the swampy wet parts. I also know if you get in the blackberry bushes too deep, you may end up with chiggers!! I seemed to always get them picking blackberries!

Sort:  

Knowing a plant is the first step before eating a plant, so you are on your way -- except with the foxglove! Chiggers and blackberries do go together in most places. But the berries are worth the effort, I think. One thing I liked about living in southern Michigan, though, is that it didn't seem like there were that many chiggers -- at least compared to other places. I don't have much problem with them here in Oregon, either. At my parents' in Arkansas, it's a different story. We have to prepare like we're on some sort of high hazard mission!

For the foxglove, I see all kinds of cautions for pets. But I can't find many reports of actual problems. It doesn't seem like dogs or cats are out there trying to eat foxgloves. But there are so many reports, year after year, of people having real trouble from eating foxglove.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92