A Steemit Meet Up And Walk Through Bringing History, Steemit, Exercise, And People Together.

in #walkwithme7 years ago (edited)

So after a long time of bugging @hooper40 to join me for a walk and Steemit meet up I finaly got her to agree. I also managed to get @skunkape30uk to agree though we were to pick him up halfway through the journey in a neighboring village. We decided to take you guys down the country lanes with us as we toured a couple villages and towns. There was some miscommunication as you'll see in the post, but over all the day was a complete success. As we traversed the hills we discussed everything from history to the block chain and Steemit. We also managed to set into concrete plans to get others we have recently gotten started on Steemit to agree to join us next time. I was the one who managed to get @hooper40 to join Steemit as we know a lot of the same people down here, but @skunkape30uk is a meet up through the platform so it was @hooper40 first time trying to meeting a stranger through the platform. Since @skunkape30uk and I did our first meet up we have gotten on quite well and grabbing the odd pint and chatting crypto when I'm in his neck of the woods has become a norm. So tighten your boots fellow Steemians as we journey down the lanes to explore the historically rich and quite villages, towns, and Abbeys of the South West. A Steemit fuelled pilgrimage if you will which starts at the gate to the fields on the lane that @hooper40 and I met up on.


After taking in the view we were on our way. As this quite corner was more her local area I let her take the lead.


After about a quarter of a mile we crested the top of a massive hill with a high bank. I wanted to see the view so engaged in a little harmless trespassing in the name of grabbing a photo. We were Steadily gaining altitude as walked so I figured there was a good shot to be had with the camera.


As you can see I was wrong. Just misty old bleak blighty. So down I jumped and on to our destination we went.

As we walked up another mile or so the hill peaked and a gentle slop brought the village of Trent into view. It is an incredibly special place. The day before this post I had called ahead to arrange for the church to be unlocked so we could tour it. It's home to some rather spectacular stained glass work and incredible art. It's under refurbishment but I eventually got the permission. Over my shoulder you can see the spire standing proud in the mist.


@hooper40 insisted she check for trolls under the bridge before crossing over. I tried to explain that the trolls down here are normally found in the pubs in the morning drinking but she refused to listen and check anyway.

And into the village of Trent we went.

The pub was the agreed meeting place to link up with @skunkape30uk so I lead the way. Sadly it was a bit to early in the day to have a pint, but after the foggy brisk air I was dying for a coffee.


And finally I bring two Steemians to link. As we live in a rather village populated area I'm finding getting people to link up around Steemit a bit tough, but slowly I'm making progress.

@skunkape30uk and myself looking at the beer. Have you noticed the miscommunication yet? On text I had said that we would be hiking country lanes and he may want to dress for the weather, he heard pub so dressed dapper for the pub in hopes of finding a cute barmaid... We still had 4 miles to hike and he was in shiny dress shoes which wouldn't do well on muddy lanes. This caused a small problem later and all turned out to be incredibly comical.

Fire place at the pub. Nothing better than coming in from the countryside and be greeted by the smell of burning oak, cooking food, coffee, and the warm sound of people chatting contentedly. Things like this are why I will never return to the city.

@skunkape30uk and @hooper40 hit it right off. As skunkape30uk runs a pub he enjoyed explaining the details of beer and food from his perspective. They both have a great sense of humor so I found myself chuckling most of the day at them bantering back and forth.


Out into the beer garden we met. The pub dog came up and gave us a cheery chappy hello which was nice.

@skunkape30uk and I taking in the view.

And off to the church we went. Having sorted it being unlocked it was time to have a peak at some of the history of Trent. Whether your religious or not visiting these beautiful buildings is a must. They have stood silent for centuries watching humans come and go. Trent used to be a significant village at one point in history but as populations and ecumenical politics shifted it slowly became a little forgotten. If you didn't know the lanes or where to turn on the road you'd drive right past the little valley that cradles this stunning place.


Myself admiring the beauty of the sun coming through the stain glass windows. When we went in the church the mist was heavy, but when we left the sun had gotten high enough to burn through it. It was cool because while we were inside exploring the sun rather dramatically lit up the windows. It was quite beautiful in truth. For more in depth photography and a more artistic perspective visit @hooper40 blog. She has a better eye for photography and got some extraordinary shots today.

Now I got this shot by climbing the scaffolding that was up as they are restoring the 16th century painted ceiling. It is important to clarify that I had called ahead and asked permission for all of this and had manged to get the church admin to agree. I though it was important to show you guys some of the beautiful art work to be found in places like this. I also got a rather goofy shot of those two looking up.


And we bid the church farewell.


@hooper40 and @skunkape30uk admiring the late 16th century homes in the village.


And here we arrive at the village limits. @skunkape30uk wasn't in shoes to hike the hills so adamantly.... I called a cab. It was a fast change of plans but had to be done. So off we went to the best part of this journey, the village of Sherborne. A very special place and home to a rather large and beautiful abbey and gardens.

And we arrive. Time to go and have a coffee and bit of refreshment in the gardens. I brought a portable espresso machine and nibbles along. Neither of them were aware of the small picnic I had brought in my ruck sack and both were pleasantly surprised. I guess fresh espresso and food wasn't expected but you can't explore on an empty stomach.





And with a bit of food in our bellies we set off through the village to go visit the Abbey.



This is 'skunkape30uk and myself admiring the abbey. This location has always been a sight of worship and after the Normans invaded in 1066 became a significant monastic powerhouse in this region of the country. So without further rambling let us show you around.


A green man carving on the entrance. I'm a bit nerdy with these sorts of things so I thought it was pretty cool.


Once we got inside I went to go visit the chaple and light a candle for my own reasons. Afterwards @skunkape30uk and I let @hooper40 take photos while we walked, whispered, and admired this stunning building. As I said earlier, you guys have to check out the pictures she got as she really managed some beautiful artistic and detailed shots. I was impressed and encouraged her to put them on her blog which I hope she does.



@skunkape30uk and myself admiring the casing. It's beautifully painted as a piece and has an amazing sound. We were fortunate enough to be in while the organist was practicing so the entire church was filled with music.

Those two checking out the variouse chapels and the coffin of the unknown bishop. Literaly, they don't have a record for it. They just know he was the bishop between the 13th and 14th century.



This is an interesting one. It's a WW1 memorial found in the warriors chapel. We took a seat and quietly paid our respect to the fallen who have over centuries died from the pointless violence that comes from the pomp and toil of war.



It was growing late so we decided it was time to get @skunkape30uk back to the village and ourselves back to our respective ones as well. It was all in all a brilliant day.




@skunkape30uk and I parted ways. At this point @hooper40 and I took the cab back to our respective villages. We didn't walk as much as I wanted to but we did manage a brilliant meet up and I know for certain those two have made friends. It as great day though and I count it as my first real success in bringing Steemit folk together. @hooper40 is a cautious person so she initially had a little anxiety meeting someone from the net and that's understandable. With the variouse people I have registering and starting with Steemit our numbers may soon grow to around eight people which with a little luck we can continue to expand from there. We discussed trying to not only get people on board with Steemit as individuals, but also getting charities involved as well. @hooper40 and my self volunteer with two different charities (she works with special needs charities, I volunteer with a local animal charity) and they both could do with joining Steemit. Getting them on board is another matter and a goal we both hope to accomplish in 2018. Well fellow Steemers, thanks so much for joining us on this walk and meet up, it was great fun. I look forward to your awesome posts and content, many blessings, and as always Steem on. :)

Sort:  

Neat! Never actually been in England (besides Heathrow Airport 😜) but I'd love to visit someday.

That church reminded me of To Say Nothing of the Dog. I can only hope that no hapless time travellers will ever have to reconstruct it 😁

There were so many great shots, you couldn't have asked for a better day for lighting and the fog too. <3 <3 <3 Epic post!!!

I really loved this one...

Thank you. I'm uploading some videos from the day at the moment. Basically goofing around and sounds from the sites we visited. I'm glad you enjoyed. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84