~ 49 ~ Walk With Me in Nova Scotia, Canada (Bird Edition)

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Wow was it ever a day for birds!

IMG_2275.JPG

It was very low tide when I got out there and as I turned into Bayview Drive there were Gulls galore! They were soaring lazily above the shallow waters looking for a good lunch.

IMG_2237.JPG

The sky was lead, and the wind was bitter.

IMG_2241.JPG

This Was Yesterday...

IMG_2223.JPG

So even though today was overcast and cold, at least I could go for a walk!

IMG_2227.JPG

The state of "The Driveway Puddle" yesterday

The Cove

IMG_2242.JPG

IMG_2246.JPG

Two Ducks almost completely camouflaged in.

IMG_2247.jpg

IMG_2248.JPG

IMG_2251.jpg

I love how rustic the docks look in low tide.

IMG_2252.JPG

IMG_2253.JPG

And A Couple More Gulls...

IMG_2263.JPG

IMG_2271.JPG

Crow

IMG_2278.jpg

IMG_2277.jpg

IMG_2245.JPG

Watching Some Fishermen

IMG_2281.JPG

IMG_2282.jpg

I thought this was a pretty cool image with all the gulls on that island behind the fishing boat.

IMG_2284.JPG

Up the hill...

IMG_2286.JPG

IMG_2289.jpg

IMG_2293.JPG

IMG_2280.JPG

IMG_2287.JPG

Thank you for coming on another "WalkWithMe" I hope you enjoyed today's shots! I'd like to go on a walk where you live too, so if you get out there for one, take a few pics, and post about your walk using the tag "walkwithme". I'll check the tag regularly to upvote and give encouragement. Let's get fresh air and fitness together!

Check out the latest walks by fellow Steemians who got out there in the world, and took us with them!

See life through their eyes.

Walk with me - Lily's Cottage Durban, South Africa By @lizelle

Walk with me - doing chores and traveling to the neighbour By @wwf

Walk with Me - Barn Hollow Natural Area with @jakeimnotshure By @hethur240

Walk With Me: The Maiden Voyage (89 Days Late) By @rebeccaryan

What's your kind of Antigua? By @buttcoins

The last leaves seem to be not about to fall soon... By @immarojas

Today Is A "walkwithme" Day By @francisk

Walk with me in NB Canada [ep1] By @x0xkasumix0x

Walk with Me: Today I helped a friend to purchase his 1st BTC. By @mihail.tsvetkov

San Bernardino Mountain Adventures - Bear Creek Trout Fishing By @derekrichardson

IMG_2291.JPG

Sort:  

The darker it gets, the more intense the drama in the pictures. The story is there deep and mysterious. Haunting, piercing and still. The beauty in the red berries against the darkness is every so beautiful. xx

Won't be long until the darkest day of the year, then I'll be happy for the return of the light, even though the weather will be getting messier, at least the boys won't be going to school in the dark for much longer. :)

You're nearly at 50 walks babe, what an achievement! 😉
I love the ducks, they're my favourite birds, they always kept me company when I was fishing as a kid, funny how they always did a laughing style quack when I lost a fish. I'd have been annoyed if they weren't so cool.
We have a village near me I drive through everyday on the way to work and the ducks hold up the traffic constantly crossing between ponds, nobody minds though.

Aww that's so awesome that folks don't mind the hold up by crossing ducks, a rare thing these days!!

Cute story about them laughing at you for losing a fish, I believe it!!

Why do we pour concrete foundations for houses? Foundations sag and crumble.

Stones are patient. Stones will hold up the timbers until the timbers rot and wash away. Stones endure the weight of lumber and the ambitions of generations, and then they accept our forgetfulness.

Apologies, for I know this post was about birds, though there were photographs of rocks.

Birds have perched upon your post. They will perch upon timber or concrete and then move on, hovering on faith and the manipulation of air-pressure. The brevity of their time-scales make them laugh at our concerns, though the crows know something about death and resurrection.

Tonight I heard more owls than ever before, whole families of owls calling to each other through the night. Who were they so worried about? Who indeed? It's a mystery. We never see them.

For all we know, these are only disembodied voices in the darkness. No matter that there's a feathered body perched upon timber perched upon stone. If we didn't hear them they would be nothing but a fairy-tale, cobbled of phantasm and misunderstanding.

Or lost to time, like trees falling in primeval forest sans witness.

Beautifully written Winston, the rocks were a huge part of this post, actually my favourite part. We should be building foundation from rock...wow! You're onto something there!!

I'm glad you got to hear a bunch of owls last night, I'm wondering what you guess that they were telling you? Certainly an interesting experience, sounds full of soul messages!

Serene. Peaceful.
Watching birds in Nature gives joy to my heart.
Just like a little child, sometimes I wish I could fly with them, away from all earthly worries.
Thank you for sharing! Your photos inspire me.

Taking a walk in my garden this morning and saw morning sun shining on this flower in full bloom. Just thought I would share.
20171203_074344.jpg

20171203_074405.jpg

Oooh wow this is a sight for sore eyes! Where in the world are you, must be somewhere very warm!! xoxo

Florida. The weather is at its best at this time of the year. ;-)

Wonderful, thank you for sharing the warmth and flowers with me <3 <3

My pleasure anytime :-)

It does look like autumn(fall) is well an truly here with winter chasing closely in its footsteps.

I do like those old wooden buildings by the water. What sort of age are they likely to be?

most likely over 50 years..however the salt spray does a lot of dammage

I will ask some locals and find out the age @pennsif! Good question!!

Yes noticing the docks with posts coming up above the dock and at low tide I notice they don't reach to the bottom. Maybe they are there to hold the other pieces in place. Very interesting how these docks are made.

It is really really interesting, I agree. Pure rustic beauty.

Wow what a great selection of photos @lyndsaybowes - I particularly like those amazing red berries and yellow lichen on the wall.
A real feast for the eyes. Thanks so much for that gorgeous walk.

Thank you for appreciating that rustic beauty, I loved that wall too!

I gotta admire your dedication to the #walkwithme tag... I would have took one look outside and went back in and put coffee on..

Like I said in a post a long time ago, it's become addictive! Nothing relieves my stress like getting out there, and especially in the cold because it warms me up from the inside out! xo

Thank you @lyndsaybowes for the support and for the menton our family really appreciate it. We wish you all best of luck!

The gulls were just hanging out waiting for their dinner. :) Tide was pretty low. The docks look high and dry...The puddle barometer says you had a lot of rain. Looks kind of nippy.

hhehheeeeee!!! Puddle Barometer, stealing that!!!!

Be my guest! It just seemed to suit...

It most certainly does!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94