~ 42 ~ Walk With Me Down Moser Island Road, Nova Scotia

in #walkwithme7 years ago

IMG_1726.JPG

A Dim And Windy Day...

I took the picture below the first time I went to leave the house. As soon as I got outside it started spitting a bit, so I came back in to grab my camera bag. I'm just grateful I didn't leave much sooner and get caught outside with no bag.

Photo on 2017-11-17 at 11.56 AM.jpg

On my way!

Photo on 2017-11-17 at 12.04 PM #3.jpg

Okay, now I'm really on my way :)

Walking To Moser Island Road

IMG_1669.JPG

Gulls are actually pretty large birds out here. I remember when we lived in the Prairies, there would be the odd gull about, and they were always skinny and small, I'm pretty sure all they ate was McDonalds...poor things...

IMG_1668.jpg

IMG_1671.JPG

Low tide and it's still going out. The sea birds always enjoy the emerging islands.

IMG_1672.JPG

Deer Tracks

IMG_1673.JPG

Moser Island Road

IMG_1678.JPG

Our son @EddieBowes suggested for me to walk down this road, I hadn't yet, and I'm so glad I did. It was totally peaceful, fairly long and had views of both the cove and open ocean as I went along.

IMG_1677.JPG

IMG_1674.JPG

The Maritimes are all about rocks, rocks everywhere.

IMG_1675.JPG

IMG_1681.JPG

Pretty much the only green we have around anymore...

IMG_1679.jpg

I think the little round rocks with seaweed all over them look cute, like moppy little sea heads.

IMG_1682.JPG

IMG_1680.JPG

IMG_1684.JPG

I really loved the hues of these grasses.

IMG_1685.JPG

IMG_1687.JPG

IMG_1690.JPG

The other side of the water is just a wall of yellow.

IMG_1688.JPG

Lovely to see a bright colour still hanging on in this brown, grey and yellow world :)

IMG_1689.JPG

IMG_1695.JPG

Some sweet little ducks.

IMG_1692.JPG

IMG_1691.JPG

IMG_1694.JPG

Some crows playing in the wind, cawing.

IMG_1706.JPG

I reach a part of the road where it faces open ocean through the trees, I can hear the water lapping.

And Some More Rocks

IMG_1707.JPG

IMG_1708.JPG

IMG_1721.JPG

Little mossy heads peeking out of the ground.

IMG_1711.JPG

IMG_1717.JPG

IMG_1723.JPG

This was a pretty scene, mostly because the sun peeked out for a second or two. So funny that it turned out I didn't need my camera bag at all except for the first few minutes of the walk.

IMG_1725.JPG

And Lastly, The Coolest Power Poll I've Ever Seen

IMG_1727.JPG

When I was first approaching it I had to double check because I thought it was painted or carved!

IMG_1728.JPG

IMG_1730.JPG

IMG_1729.JPG

IMG_1732.JPG

Thank you for coming on another "WalkWithMe" I hope you enjoyed today's shots! I'd like to go on a walk where you live too, so if you get out there for one, take a few pics, and post about your walk using the tag "walkwithme". I'll check the tag regularly to upvote and give encouragement. Let's get fresh air and fitness together!

Check out the latest walks by fellow Steemians who got out there in the world, and took us with them!

See life through their eyes.

Cobblestone Commute By @buttcoins

Walk With Me In Denver #12 By @phoenixwren

Walk With Me Through The Christmas Market By @shaunf

Blue Sky Friday: Ladies Day Out By @melodyrussell

IMG_1733.JPG

Sort:  

So wild and rugged babe. Not you, the scenery! 😂
Gone are the t-shirts, the winter clothing is out. Can't wait to see the pictures when the snow starts.
Another great episode Lyndsay.

You'll be the first to see the snow pics, I promise haha! I'll send them to you in Chat the moment the white starts flying.

Gorgeous photography as always. Those grasses looked like a painting!
I think if the prairie gulls ate only McDonald's they'd be fat. ;)
And now I am thinking of the seaweed mop head rocks as SEA MUPPETS!
I love all the rocks too. I have a bunch that I've collected in my apartment. Some from random finds, some from sacred places, some that I bought (like the labradorite I showed the other day). I got my neighbor, who has since moved across the country, into it. So when she and her fiance (now husband) came to visit (I hadn't met him before), and we went out to dinner, we passed this big quartz rock the size of a SmartCar used as decoration. We both exclaimed, "Rock!" And her fiance said, oh, okay, now I know you're friends...

BWA Hahhahaaaaaaaa!! "Rock!" Omgoodness that made me laugh so much. Thank you so much for this meaningful comment PhoenixWren, and I am definitely coining those "Sea Muppets!" too.

Finally Mosher...I love that road and have peeked about it so many times. I love that there are so many roads up and down this highway..all beautiful....even the ones with no water. I think that pole is awesome and if it ever falls its in my house somewhere. Would that not be cool. I can not believe how beautiful the raw and wild beauty is. There is still so much colour, so much life in each photo. A quiet haunting beauty that goes deep into my soul. BTW the outfil is rad.

YAY!! There were some more turn offs I could have taken too, but they all felt private so I didn't explore further. Next time I'm gonna man up and go through those woods to get to the open ocean!

Don't you just love the sound of the seagulls when a bunch of them get together?

They do eat much better when they have access to real food!

Oooh yeah you got the bigguns there too I see! Nice catch!!! And yes, their sound soothes my soul...

I really enjoyed seeing some of the Canadian landscape through your lens as it is much different to what I see on the daily. I might do a walk with me post in the future, it's a great concept! Thanks for sharing :)

Oooooh I would LOVE to see what you see!! :) Yes, please do a #walkwithme, I check the tag all the time @gardeningchef!

I enjoyed the walk with you @lyndsaybowes
All that dead seaweed, some dead and dying grasses and lifeless rocks, even the electric pole is beautiful and pleasing.

Thank you so much for appreciating all of the beauty in this walk @cryptopie! :)

I love these autumn colours - so calm and peaceful.

It would be cool to put all your 'Walk with Me' photographs into a little guidebook for your area.

Or maybe an interactive Google Map showing your walk routes and pins to click on for the photos...

That's a really brilliant idea @pennsif! The best part of it is, I could start it even in a couple of years because these posts will be here on the blockchain forever :) xoxo

I am sorry but I had to laugh at you bundled up like that. It is almost 80 degrees here today although a bit of a breeze lol.

Another excellent walk and I applaud your dedication off getting your arse out there in the cold and getting after it. I notice the kids are absent from the pics. It seems they threw in the towel until Spring. :)

Another 100% upvote for you.

AHHA thanks for making fun of me!! I'm loving the cold weather walks actually, I don't get sweaty anymore HAHAHAA!! The little buggers were in school yesterday, I will be getting em out this weekend, no slacking!!

Love the look of the different rocks, seaweed and moss. That post is certainly unique. Most poles are boring. Also liked the shots of the red berries and the white birch. Two of my favourite things.

Thank you so much for always enjoying the photos Ceci! <3 <3 Birch is my favourite tree, what's yours?

The patterns of some power poles (or telephone poles) are pretty awesome. I deal with them on a daily basis at work.
No wonder they like their rocks, there seems to be quite a few 😉. There is something about a rock wall that always attracts my eye. Maybe because I know someone built it with their bare hands and it will stand for many years to come.
Thanks for taking us along on your walk. What a beautiful place you live in.

Thank you so much for enjoying today's walk @jlsplatts! I agree with you about the rock walls, they feel so ancient...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78