~ 40 ~ Walk With Me in Nova Scotia

in #walkwithme7 years ago

A Bitter Kind Of Day

IMG_1581.JPG

I was trying, but failed, at getting a shot of the leaves whipping across the road, so you'll just have to imagine it lol they were moving! We awoke to a snowy rain, nothing accumulated. It was icy cold out and I knew I needed to go for a walk to feel good and get some colour in my cheeks.

My musical selection for this walk is "I Had My Chance" by Morphine.

There's a great line in the song: "Sometimes, I'm too careful, I walk just like I'm carrying a hand grenade...". and what he sings next, and the way it's sung, I just adore.


I hope you enjoy the mood of the song, and the photos.

IMG_1579.JPG

A Sentinel

IMG_1582.JPG

There you go @WinstonAlden, someone has finally pulled their boat out of the ocean!

IMG_1587.JPG

Yet more still remain...

IMG_1591.JPG

IMG_1584.JPG

The birds were sure loving the wind! They always get to do cool tricks when it's really blowing. I'd love to be a bird for a few minutes and feel what it feels like...

IMG_1603.JPG

Kings of the World

IMG_1585.JPG

With the trees all bare now, the apples look like Christmas ornaments...(on Charlie Brown's tree).

IMG_1586.JPG

A close up of some sweet Nova Scotia architecture.

Screen Shot 2017-11-14 at 9.32.38 PM.png

Dat little rock tho...my hero!

IMG_1588.JPG

@DavidFar asked me where all the lobster fishermen were, I always take photos of the traps and boats but there is never anyone working, well there we go Davood, 40 walks later and I finally found em!

IMG_1592.JPG

And just to balance it out, there's a bunch of traps with no fishermen.

IMG_1589.JPG

It was halfway between low and high tide when I was out.

IMG_1590.JPG

Going Up "Heart Attack Hill"

IMG_1593.JPG

If you were with me from the beginning of this series you will know this hill well. Well...it doesn't really even make me lose my breath anymore!! Never mind going into mock cardiac arrest like before.

IMG_1594.jpg

Always pretty from up there, but way windier!

IMG_1597.JPG

IMG_1595.JPG

Typical home decor in "Canada's Ocean Playground".

IMG_1599.JPG

Also typical home decor...

IMG_1598.JPG

The ground strewn with leaves everywhere I look.

IMG_1605.JPG

Woodpiles are all about, as well as the smell of woodsmoke everywhere I walk in our community.

IMG_1596.jpg

More Wood for @DaveDickeyYall cause I know he cares :)

Well...

IMG_1604.jpg

That's all Folks! My camera died...

Thank you for coming on another "WalkWithMe" I hope you enjoyed today's shots, none of my photos are edited except the black and white. I'd like to go on a walk where you live too, so if you get out there for one, take a few pics, and post about your walk using the tag "walkwithme". I'll check the tag regularly to upvote and give encouragement. Let's get fresh air and fitness together!

Check out the latest walks by fellow Steemians who got out there in the world, and took us with them!

See life through their eyes.

Walk.with.me #16: Hong Kong (Part 2) - An Award-winning Home in Hong Kong By @foodie.warrior

A #walkwithme around the property looking for deer! By @rockchickjen

Autumn Fields And Monster Trees By @cognoscere

Picnic at the beach park. Melbourne, Australia. By @ram.bozo

Walkwithme in beautiful... WTF... FML By @davedickeyyall

IMG_1602.jpg

Sort:  

Haha, heart attack hill! We have a couple of those here where I live too.
Snowy rain eh?! Winter is definitely on the way.
Love the tune too babe.
40 walks and counting, wow, who'd have thought eh Lyndsay?

Winter is sure on the way, and 40 walks in, I'm feeling the difference!! I'm addicted to fresh air now, I can't believe I used to be cooped up here all the time before!!

That's really cool babe, keep it up during the winter and you'll get really fit.

Thanks I will definitely be brave and keep doing this, even in the freezing temps! Actually I've been enjoying the colder walking weather more than the heat, but I don't know how I'll feel when the snow starts flying!

Hi @lyndsaybowes! Today, I have come for a walk with you! It most definitely has been cold here in land-locked Ontario. We've been running our own woodstove for about 2 weeks already. My favourite pictures are:
the wee rock holding up the boat house or driving shed and the Well!
Would you look at the beautiful colour of moss/ lichen growing on those stones! Well done! Great walk. :)

Hi Rebecca!! :) :) So good to see you, thank you for coming on this walk with me! Mmmmmm nothing like wood heat hey? That's something we're really missing in our home.

Thank you for enjoying the lichen on the well, it really stood out for me too, I don't know how I never noticed it before today :) :)

How cold is the coldest it's gotten there so far this fall?

  • 4 so far. It's been exceptionally rainy and grey...alas it is November and so, I give you Gordon of the Light Foot Clan:

:)

@hendrix22 and I are enjoying the song, thank you :)

Once again the pictures speak volumes. The beauty in the everyday of the Nova Scotia fishing man, the beauty of nature even in November on a cold and frosty day. I discovered something about those Lobster fisherman and why we rarely see them. On one of my many beautiful runs this past summer I had the good fortune to run in Barrington. For those who do not know all they do in Barrington is fish for Lobster. Well I stayed in Yarmouth and at 6am on a Sunday morning I was at Tim's to get a coffee. The Tim's and the parking lot were full of ...yes...you got it Lobster fishermen. I also see them in their Lobster Boats going by my front window. Blue, Green or Red Boats. Those cold frosty mornings when I am sitting by the fire drinking coffee. Their days are long and its hard work. When do they come home...at dusk when we are again warm by the fire eating our dinner. I often see their boats in the bay as I drive too and fro from my home to town in my warm car. Now I just realized how these men work hard to feed the expensive foodies all over the world. Luxury food for luxury restaurants from the everyday man.

Thanks for liking the walk, and for all the info about the fishermen!

Small but mighty...cute little rock holding up the building! I also like the photo of the well. Looks chilly. Time for hot chocolate?

You know it! Baking cookies today :) :) :)

I like that King's of the Wild shot!!
The music goes so well with your photos. I'm diggin it.
Always great to read your posts.

Aww!! Thank you so much for listening to the tune, they're one of my fave bands of all time. Lead singer's dead since 99. Played a slide bass on an electric guitar body they coined their music "Low Rock". <3 <3 <3

Crows are incredible...my favouritest feathered friends... (don't tell the chickens).

what would Pendock say about this?

BWA HHAHAA shhhhh!!!

What kind? I love oatmeal chocolate chip!

Oatmeal Raisin! :)

Second favourite. Save me one...I'm on the way over.

YAY!! Bring some sunshine with you please!

You got it! lol

Thanks for the mention!

That boat hauling track looks marvelously ramshackle! And the stone piling under the boathouse - hilarious! But it looks like they're working just fine.

It's amazing how quickly cardiac health improves once you start exercising. I bet you'll be running up that hill before too long!

I will be running soon Winston! It's so cold out I gotta create some heat somehow! :) :)

Yes, that little rock holding it's part of the building. Do people willingly walk into that building?

Oooh yes, that's what most of the fish houses around here look like, perfectly safe, you saw the rock! :D hahahaaaa

Very cool shots and nice mood music to go with it!!! My favorite is the bay blueberries 😉

BWA HAHHAHAA I had to go back and look!! Found em LOL!!!!

Glad you liked the song my friend xo :)

Even without the leaves blowing across the road it looks cold there

Cool pics of the lobster traps.. kudos to those crazy mofos who use them.. I couldn't/ wouldn't do it... even as much as I love lobster..

I cannot believe the elements they work in up here in the winter, crazy mofos for realz!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75