Tour of the Ottawa Experimental Farm - Overview

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

pig happy.JPG

When I first moved to Ottawa, I was surprised to see dairy cows out my back window. I soon discovered there were more animals, like the happy pig shown above. It just happened that I had moved in near the Central Experimental Farm, a research center and working farm within the city of Ottawa. Established in 1886, its role is to help resolve farm production issues. There is a network of farms like this across the country and they have played a major role in developing the Canadian agrifood industry. This one is now encircled by the city.

If you are interested, you can read more about the system of research stations here.

Driving by various parts, you might see farm fields, buildings, experimental crop plots or the cows in the field but when you arrive at the farm's center, there is much more. For the visitor, the major attractions are the Tropical Greenhouse, Ornamental Gardens, Arboretum, and the Canada Agriculture & Food Museum.

Tropical Greenhouse.JPG

Last Friday, I decided to walk around and take some photos to share with you. This post is an overview and I will be updating it with links to even more photos.

I parked my car beside the greenhouses. Only the Tropical Greenhouse is open to the public although there are occasional tours through the others. It's a beautiful 1,600 sq ft heritage building that has been here on the farm since 1938 and open to the public since the 1970s.

Inside the greenhouse

From there, I walked up the street towards the barns. There are administrative buildings scattered around and some are quite pretty.

IMG_5681.JPG

As I'm arriving from behind the museum, I now have to walk around its fence to the entrance on the other side. I passed a barn complex which you will see later and then this pretty barn with a fancy steel roof.

IMG_5684.JPG

Walking past the sheep pen, I met this good looking sheep. We're half way to the entrance. Baaa!

sheep.JPG

Okay, I paid the admission and we're inside the fence. To the left, we have goats. They love to climb and here they have their own play structure.

goat house.JPG

More goats

Now for the first barn. I entered it and promptly met the two clydesdales that pull the Tally-ho wagon. Visitors can sometimes take wagon rides. There were also a couple of beef cattle including one with a new calf.

clydesdale 2.JPG

From there, I checked out the small chicken coop. I peered through the chain link fence, not expecting to see a bunny in there!

bunny.JPG

I'm not sure what kind of domestic fowl they are.

chickens 5.JPG

Now, we have a whole barn complex ahead of us here. The building is beautiful and so well kept. Towards the right of the photo is the original museum entrance to the food exhibits and old farm implements. Downstairs, is the prize dairy herd and a grain exhibit.

barn complex.JPG

There are kitchen demonstrations here. I had a timetable of events for the afternoon and I hurried through here because I didn't want to miss the cow wash! The museum has many things for children to do and even a summer farm camp.

kitchen.JPG

There was a room full of old farm implements. How do you like this old tractor?

Sawyer-Massey tractor.JPG

Back outside for the cow wash. A pretty Holstein cow named Tallulah was having a bath and it was just finishing as I arrived. I have to say that I'm always impressed by the cleanliness of the barns here too.

cow wash 1.JPG

Inside the dairy barn, you will see pedigrees posted over some of the stalls. Most barns will list the breed and the animal's name but the cows also have ear tags. I said, "Hello Tallulah" and she's wondering how I know her name. It reminds me of a Far Side comic.

cow wash 5.JPG

Visiting the dairy herd

Of course, we also have more exotic animals and this is the end of the trip for now.

exotic animals.JPG

References

Agricultural Research Stations - Canadian Encyclopedia
Central Experimental Farm - Wikipedia
Canada Agriculture and Food Museum
Friends of the Central Experimental Farm
Central Experimental Farm National Historic Site Management Plan

Images

All photos from the iPad of @kansuze.

Follow footer.gif

I hope you enjoyed the tour! Please visit again as I fill in links to more photos.
@kansuze

Sort:  

That's really cool!!
Cleanest farm I have ever seen.

I think that too and as a tax payer, it's your farm.

Some vast range of animals there. So what exactly do they experiment on? Is it breeding programs or something like that?

Otherwise this is an original piece of work, and also contains some really very valuable information for the community.

I am going to feature this post in the next Xposed Curator's Rebound #38. You may find details about it Xposed Curator's Rebound

My hope is to bring your quality work here the exposure it deserves, and with it, hopefully some additional rewards.

Best wishes, @mirrors

Thank you! I'm glad you asked. The farm is quite large and they have had a huge list of achievements over the years such as new types of wheat for our climate and the Explorer rose series. The quality of their Holstein breeding is apparently known worldwide. I almost went all out on a more informative piece but I haven't yet found my audience and their preferences. I will also be adding more related posts today. According to their web site, some current research is focused on the following:

  • soils and Canadian land inventory;
  • food and dairy products processing technology;
  • horticulture and ornamental plant breeding;
  • agriculture engineering and farm mechanical systems;
  • animal and poultry breeding and production;
  • agricultural and forest insect identification and control methods;
  • agricultural chemistry analysis methodology;
  • plant and animal pathology;
  • bacteriology and plant health;
  • cereal and forage crop production utilization;
  • tobacco;
  • bee research.

wow! this is detailed enough for me. Thanks. And please do keep up with the writes, i will follow along. And offer any little support i can. Thanks.

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68