Walk With Me - Spring Beginnings in the Woods

in #walkwithme6 years ago

20180406_125058-01.jpeg
Rue Anemone

The husband has been busy cutting our property line out to make way for a permanent fence. He's spent a couple of days on it and has over half done with the part we are fencing already. We took a walk down the north side of the property so he could show me what has been done. I think I paid more attention to the rocks and things by my feet than I did the actual line he had cut. Whoops. Haha!

20180406_125154-01.jpeg
We have lots of these lacy rocks in our woods. I wish I knew what they are.

20180406_125202-01.jpeg
Parchment mushrooms

20180406_125802-01.jpeg
A purple rue anemone

20180406_130003-01.jpeg
Invasive Japanese honeysuckle vine going up a small tree

20180406_130009-01.jpeg
More Japanese honeysuckle

20180406_130014-01.jpeg
Another rue anemone

20180406_130135-01.jpeg
I found this shelf type mushroom upside down on a branch that had recently fallen.

20180406_130138-01.jpeg
A close-up of its pores

We brought Willie Nelson, Chico, Loretta Lynn, and Jack with us on our walk. Loretta found something disgusting to roll in, as usual.

20180406_130438(0).jpg

20180406_130443.jpg

20180406_130452.jpg

Loretta got a bath as soon as we got in the house. I wasn't going to risk her wiping herself off in our bed. She wasn't very happy about it.

Thanks for stopping by! Stay tuned!

Sort:  

I've seen some nice walking staffs made out of trees that have been wrapped by that honeysuckle. An Ozark specialty! It's nice seeing those spring wildflowers returning. Have the ticks come out yet?

So far I haven't seen any, but our chickens are pretty diligent tick eaters. We've never had a tick problem at this place and we're in the middle of the woods! Thank god for chickens! Haha!

Awww...chickens, what can't they do?

Loretta looks quite proud of herself LOL! Isn't it fun finding all these hidden treasures? We just had some dozer work done and I found an arrowhead. I was SO excited. I'm told we may have quite a few on the land so I'm thinking about getting a screen and putting our dirt through it. Those parchment mushrooms are amazing... I've never seen anything like them before.

The person who owned our land before we bought it had all the cedars on the property logged. They left behind quite a few large pieces and almost all of them have this parchment fungus on them. It's really neat to touch. Soft and hard at the same time.
I've never found an arrowhead. That's so cool! I'd be screening that dirt as well! You should share the arrowhead with us! Unless you already have and I missed it. I'll go look. :) Thanks for stopping by!

No... I've been off Steemit for a bit. So much was going on I just couldn't keep up but the dust is settling, so to speak, I'll post a pic soon!

The rocks are so cool!! Awww loretta <3 what a cutie!
That japanese honeysuckle is crazy! Looks persistent!

It is terrible, terrible stuff. It takes over areas where our native honeysuckle normally grow. This stuff is everywhere. Conservation is trying so hard to get people to get rid of it, but I see it for sale in places like Lowes and Home Depot! We cut and paint vine killer on every bit of it we found in the yard. The sheep should take care of what is in the woods once we let them out there to forage.

I never understand why companies are allowed to sell invasive plants. Here they sell sumac for example, yet it is taking over everywhere. Same with dog strangling vine... (cannot remember it's real name lol) it is tricky to eradicate. Lots of dedication!

Well, now I know the identical crazy vines up on our hill is Japanese honeysuckle! I really like that pic of the purple anemone. Such a lovely soft purple making a pretty pop of color in the dead leaves!!

Hm, I do that too! Hubby wants to show off what he’s been working on, and there’s me just looking at everything else... lol lovely little flowers heralding spring 😊

It is so hard not to get distracted, especially in the woods! Haha!

Reply to this comment if you want me to upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 32,600+ followers. Then whenever you want me to upvote and resteem another blog post go to my Comments and reply to my last comment. It's free. @a-0-0 😊

Ah! such hopeful signs of spring! Hope it hurries north.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.55
ETH 2482.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38