Walk With Me #2 - My Steemit Hiatus

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Hey y'all

DSC_0278.jpg

I've been away from the platform for about a week now, and I've sincerely missed all my friends on here, and all the people who certainly aren't my friends and without a doubt have zero clue who I am. But, still, I've missed all of it.

I have no real reason for my Steemit hiatus - other than that it was not really a Steemit-specific hiatus, but a random break from quite a few things.

I've done a lot in the past week and at the same time, I feel like I've done nothing at all. My break from the computer coincided with Valentine's Day, and I think there was an obvious influence there. I honestly don't approve of Valentine's Day one bit, nor most "capitalist holidays" of this nature, but I still always try to make it a special day for my girlfriend and I and all that corny stuff.

DSC_0470.jpg

Anyways, I took my girlfriend snowboarding on that day, and when we got home I obviously had no intention of going on Steemit. We are in the fortunate position for the next month or so of being able to spend most of our time together, which is rare, so I guess I just kind of continued the notion.

In fact, I really can't recall picking up my computer at all during the last week.

DSC_0426.jpg

I've jumped on here from time to time, but mainly to make sure I wasn't missing anyone who may have been trying to contact me for any reason. I also would occasionally watch films on my computer with the intent to review them on here, as well as album reviews, but I guess other things kept coming up.

I did get the opportunity to go snowboarding quite a bit recently, which I am very happy about. Snowboarding is a huge passion of mine, a kind of therapy in some aspects, that has been missing from my life for years due to financial issues and other issues stemming from financial issues. But things are looking a lot better now.

DSC_0319 (2).jpg

So there's that. I've brought a big passion back into my life. I'm sitting here honestly trying to think, what the hell else have I been doing?

I filed for tax returns. I prepped food in a restaurant I used to work in. I spent three hours straight chipping ice(for no reason) while listening to early 2000's hardcore. I took in the bottles. I got drunk. Then I got sick. I listened to all 24 episodes of the podcast "Up and Vanished" straight. I didn't even intend to start listening. I made a craigslist post about looking for random work. I instead received a lot of scams. After becoming tired of calling out the scammers, I spent hours on end trolling them, instead. I cashed in a year's collection of change. I heard about my cousin getting engaged. I ate two tortilla wraps, plain, and called it a day. I burned a teepee into the sheath of a wood chisel of mine with a soldering iron. I don't remember why I did it. I've never drawn a teepee in my life. And I took my dog to a pond, as you can clearly see.

DSC_0401 (1).jpg

That was a small insight into how entertainingly boring my life really is. I can find so much entertainment in these things. Anything really. And I love that.

So. What have you all been doing?

DSC_0499.jpg

What have I missed? As many of you know, I am usually pretty active here, and really like to stay up to date with the people I've connected with on the platform. I am going to try to catch up on my own as much as possible, but it's gonna be tough and I feel like I might not get it done to the extent I'd like to. So, if you have anything interesting to share, please share it with me, here!

DSC_0346.jpg

Manna - Earn what we all deserve
Use steemfollower to connect with more Steemit users

Check out these faucets!
Moon DASH
Moon BCH
Moon LTC
Moon DOGE

Sort:  

I'm happy to hear things are looking a lot better for ya now!!! I hope it continues to be the trend. Onward, and upward! Snowboarding looks fucking amazing but it's one of those sports that have always kind of terrified me. Anything that doesn't have a steering wheel and propels me forward and down just absolutely terrifies the hell out of me. I think one of my friends went snowboarding (he was good at it, but still) and took a really bad spill and tore up the inside of his mouth and I since have not wanted to even try. LOL. I'm glad you and the lady had some time to spend together, that's really sweet. Everyday can be Valentine's day if you're romantic enough haha :)

Everyday can be Valentine's day if you're romantic enough haha :)

Yes, I know! That was the point I was trying to make by calling the holiday trivial(i don't remember exactly what I said but I think it was something along those lines). But, I decided to make a thing out of it :)

Snowboarding is fucking awesome! If you ever get the opportunity, you should try it. And by that I mean give it an honest shot because the more comfortable you are, the more fun it is. I've spent a good amount of my life snowboarding and can honestly say I don't think there's anything in the world I love more, literally.

I once upon a time was somewhat of a competitive snowboarder. Through that I made a lot of friends who are very serious about it. So, through being a part of that community to some extent I have heard a lot of horror stories and witnessed many first hand. I have also broken just about every bone in my body.

BUT I would like to say that in most cases it was entirely my fault. I was knowingly doing something out of my comfort zone, that I was aware of the consequences. I'd say that for the most part, the same thing could be said for my friends. My point is is that if you're careful, and not as reckless as myself, you shouldn't have any more to worry about than a few bruises :)

That's my rant on snowboarding. I seriously encourage you to try it if given the chance!

Oh god. Ouchies on the broken bones. Damn!!!
I suppose you gotta take risks to get better at something! I will definitely have to give it a try. My best friend was an avid snowboarder and has vowed she would take me one day .

Again, back to Valentine's day- it IS a trivial commercial holiday but I sure relish in the stupid funny cards people make for them. Sharing one with you that I sent to @ghostfish that makes me giggle every fucking time:
IMG_7222.JPG

Yes, I do enjoy some aspects of it. I find it really funny that that's the one you chose to share; because on our first Valentine's Day together, this is the one I sent her:

980x.jpg

Wow! It couldn't be better. Thanks for sharing bro.

Seems like a great time! Sometimes we do need a time were not much is happening. It helps you see whats great in life.

love that 3rd photo! haha looks like he had such a great time playing in the snow 😂

Oh, he always does :) There were a lot of good photos in which the snow unfortunately kinda clouded him out. I'm glad these ones came out though. Thank you for taking the time to stop by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68369.19
ETH 3893.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66