May Day celebrations in Glastonbury - in pictures

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

20180501_142733.jpg

May Day is celebrated around the World by pagans and druids and is traditionally called Beltaine. This festival has long been marked by feasts and rituals. May poles, supremely phallic symbols, were the focal point of old English villages ritual. Many people stayed awake to watch the sun rise and then go out and gather green branches and foliage to use for decoration for the May pole and themselves.

20180501_211431.jpg

In Glastonbury their tradtional May day right is to parade the May pole all the way up the high street and along the main road to the white spring, being led by the newly appointed May king and Queen.

20180501_122542.jpg

The procession takes a break for 10 minutes where a magical gate that leads through a high wall is opened and people are allowed to walk freely into the chalice well. The energy of the two springs that's considered locally to be male and female are infused together at this point by the mass mingling of people, this forms a powerful energetic hamony between the two.

20180501_123559.jpg

20180501_124217.jpg

The ten minute rest is over, the huge procession leads its way up the hill and makes its way slowly along to bushey coombe where the pole is erected by the green men its then dressed by the multicoloured ribbons, the King and Queen are crowned, much merriment is enjoyed by the colourful crowd, and a huge feast is enjoyed by all.

20180501_142453.jpg

20180501_131009.jpg

20180501_123913.jpg

If you like this article please consider resteeming, upvoting and commenting on my work, to care really is to share. ❤

Wishing all a very happy abundant Beltaine

20180502_092521.jpg

DQmaiuGasc2vGC6wrf3Nu7Su5GTzNSx9UJGuApEhdjAZvzU.png

Sort:  

Oh that so beautiful. I made myself a song about Beltaine and Mayday, even if we don't have that celebrations in Spain I try to celebrate it my own way. In fact I made not one but two small posts about May Day pictures. These are beautiful and I love the Green Men!

I did read the lovely post you made at Beltaine too @yidneth after listening to one of the shows on discord where you told us all about your profile name. I love all your posts your very talented Priscilla 😊

The seeds are sown, although the winter is distant we sow the seeds with an understanding that the harvest will come.

May your seeds sprout and your fields ripen in the coming turn of the wheel.

All circles share a common center, that center is love.

So mote it be @tawasi 😊
Blessed are the bees 😊
Blessed be

Very cool pics, 😃
I've heard about May Day Pole and didn't know it still went on.
The pagan celebration of the coming of Summer.

Thank you. Theirs a huge Dragon festival this weekend @eventspeaker i cant wait to show you the photos when i have them too 😊

Ooooo VERY COOL 😃
I can't wait to see those pics. 😍
Will there be venders selling "Dragon Milk"?
You can get it from cows with really short legs LOL 😂 🤣😂 🤣😂 🤣

I saw a stall selling jars of dragons fire, i was going to buy a jar but thought the stallholders looked dishonest and may be trying to burn me!. 🤣😂😊

LOL good one😂 🤣 😃

Love to find fellow Brits on Steemit. I'm looking forward to our May Day event on Monday. My daughter is looking forward to the climbing wall, that's her May Day event.

Likewise @hopehuggs great name btw too 😊 bet you love hugs, dont we all. Followed you. Hope to read a post about your May day goings on if you blog about it

Looks like a fun time. Upvoted :)

Bless you @crystalpacheco glad you enjoyed it 😊

Awesome! I always wanted to form part of this kind of events! Good for you man!

What a great idea. You should organise a gathering where you are with friends and family @blackliberal 😊

So glad you liked it my friend 😊

very good story and photography

Glad you liked the walk with me @angeltirado 😊

wow!!!! i've never seen a Maypole being braided like that in real life! how fun to experience this hehehehe
look how festive everyone is!!!! I'm so glad that you captured this for all of us to enjoy!

(but.... the man with the green face is scaring me! LOLOLOL)

Every year it gets bigger and more colourful @dreemsteem 😊
I knew you would love it 😊

It looks great.

I'm from Bristol so I know the area fairly well. There is definitely something magical about the place. I actually went to the festival in 81 when it was called the CND festival. Great memories.

Hows this for a little blast from the past my friend. Tickets were only £8 back then, how times change 😊

glasto81.jpg

Oh my goodness! That is so cool.

I remember Aswad playing and I definitely remember the toilets. One of the grimmest things I've ever had to endure.

My auntie had a stall there so we got in for free. Surprised to see New Order in the line up though. Were you there?

Thanks for posting this.

Gaz

Hey Gaz i was only 11 years oldin 1981 and didnt get my first Glastonbury experience until 1989 😊 the festival was run mainly by travellers in the background, and the security were all hells angels, it was pretty wild then before the "mean fidler" took over the organization, they kicked all the travellers out, and the festival became homogenized like it is today.

Lol. I was 9 and I have not been back since. That's why I don't really remember too much about it.

Like you say, it's a different beast these days. There are a couple of moments along the way I would have like to have witnessed like the Prodigy and the Foo's but I couldn't be bothered with the hassle.

And the toilets!! ;)

Dont blame you, the crowds and the long drop toilets are hell on Earth!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61265.70
ETH 3429.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50