Walk With Me [1] - A Snowy Stroll Through The Arkansas Woods - Part 2

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Animal tracks, a den, and mushrooms! Come with me to finish my walk through the woods of Arkansas. It's easy to see who's out and about when there's a light skiff of snow.

It's a ramble at my parents' place -- 45 acres atop the sandstone in the Boston Mountains in north central Arkansas. The dusting of snow lets us see what animals have been busy. For the record, this walk is from January 2017. Here's the first half of my walk, in case you missed it.

xWWM-1 DSC04174.jpg
This is where we started, through the Eastern Red Cedars and Shortleaf Pines. We saw so much!.


x WWM-1 DSC04198.jpg
We're starting again by the rock wall, where we left off before.

x WWM-1 DSC04204.jpg
Resurrection ferns are amazing! They grow on rocks and tree trunks, like on this Eastern Red Cedar. All their water and nutrients come from the air and rain. When it's dry, they turn brown, curl up, and can lose over 90% of their water and still survive. Most other plants can't even lose 10% without dying. When it rains, they revive within hours, turning green and lush! They spread by rhizomes, so it's easy to get some to take home - you can buy them in stores, too!


x WWM-1 DSC04209.jpg
Look at that -- a mushroom! And what a special mushroom! This is Ganoderma lucidum -- the Reishi mushroom that so many people use for medicine. This one came up in the fall and is already breaking down. See the bug-eaten holes in the stalk?

x WWM-1 DSC04212.jpg
Ganoderma lucidum rots deciduous trees. It's one of the 'white rots' that makes the rotten wood light, spongy, and fibrous. It's an annual mushroom, not a perennial like so many of the other bracket mushrooms. See that one from last year, on the right, laying flat like a rotten pancake?


x WWM-1 DSC04215.jpg
Look! The wild turkeys have been here! It's always fun seeing their big tracks in the woods!

x WWM-1 DSC04218.jpg
Watch out for the Greenbrier vines! Two different kinds grow here. Both cause a lot of cussing from those sharp spines, but their tender young growth makes for good eating - and good revenge - in the springtime. And some kinds of tasty Hedgehog mushrooms grow in Greenbrier patches, for more good eating!

x WWM-1 DSC04220.jpg
Look at that fox den! My parents see the Gray Fox around their place. This den is busy! Can you see all the tracks going in and out?

x WWM-1 DSC04222.jpg
Here's a closer look at the tracks. It's hard to find a track that hasn't been stepped on again!


x WWM-1 DSC04224.jpg
Here's a pond, but what's going on with those marks on the ice?

x WWM-1 DSC04226.jpg
Here's a closer look. What do you think makes those marks? I'll show you, but let's keep walking to the second pond, while you think about it.


x WWM-1 DSC04240.jpg
Check out these rabbit tracks! My dad is always happy to see these in the snow, because he catches them in oldtime homemade box traps and eats them for dinner. The ones he doesn't catch will eat his garden in the spring and summer!

x WWM-1 DSC04241.jpg
And here's a little hopping bird. I can't tell what kind, but it moves different than the one we saw in the first half of the walk.


Have you figured out what made those marks on the ice on the pond? The answer is obvious here on the second pond!


x WWM-1 DSC04236.jpg
Hahaha -- my nephew was here the week before, with his kids. It looks like they had fun trying to break the ice by throwing big rocks! Every place a rock broke through the ice, water oozed up and then froze again. But the ice was too thick in some spots on this second pond! Gotta make your own fun in the country! And can you tell where the sun does or doesn't hit the ground during the day? That's quite a sharp line where the snow is melted or not!


x WWM-1 DSC04246.jpg
Well, let's head out of the woods and back toward the house.

x WWM-1 DSC04249.jpg
The moon is rising before twilight. It sure looks big and pretty through the branches of the black walnut trees!


x WWM-1 DSC04257.jpg
Now we're home! We can warm up with hot tea and my mom's wild persimmon cookies. They are delicious!


Thanks for walking with me!
And thanks to @lyndsaybowes for the #walkwithme tag!

Do you like to track animals in the snow?
Have you ever found mushrooms in the snow?
Do you ever eat wild persimmons?


Plant and Animal List

  • Shortleaf pine - Pinus echinata
  • Eastern red cedar - Juniperus virginiana
  • Resurrection fern - Pleopeltis polypodioides
  • Reishi mushroom - Ganoderma lucidum
  • Greenbrier - Smilax spp.
  • Black walnut tree - Juglans nigra
  • Wild turkey - Meleagris gallopavo
  • Gray fox - Urocyon cinereoargenteus
  • Eastern Cottontail rabbit - Sylvilagus floridanus

Here's more info about resurrection ferns, from Cooperative Extension at North Carolina State University. And here's more about Ganoderma lucidum and using it, from a newsletter from the North American Mycological Association.


Haphazard Homestead

foraging, gardening, nature, simple living close to the land

All content is 100% Haphazard Homestead!
My YouTube channel: Haphazard Homestead

Sort:  

That is an aptly named fern I would say! An amazing plant to be sure.

I love the fishing lure mug! I like this idea for a post. Thanks for the party gift BTW!!!

I'm sure my dad got that mug for a gift, long ago. I like it, too!

What an interesting walk! I learned lots from you. You have a wonderful amount of knowledge about nature.

I like walking all the trails around my parents' place. There are so many interesting things out in nature! Thanks for coming along on my walk!

The best part of your day was those cookies, I know! :D

haha -- You know! Those are good cookies -- with wild persimmons and black walnuts, too. That's good eating from the woods! I always like finding a mushroom, too! ; )

Thank you for gracing us with another beautiful, informative #walkwithme! We sure do have to make our own fun out in the country, I never would have guessed what the 'tracks' were though haha!!!

Glad you enjoyed my walk, @lyndsaybowes. I was amazed at how many rocks they must have been heaving onto the ponds, lol. It's a good thing there are so many rocks there -- said nobody, except folks heaving rocks! ; )

They'd love Nova Scotia!! Tonnes of rocks here haha!!

I think of your area being solid rock, from all your photos. The bedrock is all right there where you can see it, all the time!

Lovely walk thanks, looks so wonderful in the snow! Need to learn more about shrooms loads around me!

Glad you enjoyed my walk. Mushrooms are so interesting! That's nice you've got so many mushrooms around -- they are so fascinating! I eat a lot of different wild ones. But even the non-edible ones are so interesting!

Sure are. I have a book but need to do some more research don't want to end up ill now ;) 💯🐒

Mushrooms do want us to get to know them well, I guess! ; )

Yep their fun guys 💯🐒

Yes, I like to track deer in the snow. or really any animal. The winter forest is so quiet and often seems deserted. Yes, I have found mushrooms in the snow but they were old and decaying. I never had a wild persimmon. Great post. thank you.

Glad you enjoyed going on a walk with me, @chefsteve. The wild American persimmons are one of my most favorite fruits. When they are really ripe, they are so sweet and flavorful -- much more flavor, I think, than the Japanese persimmons. People in the past must have really enjoyed them, with sweet things being so hard to come by. I hope you are enjoying some tracks in the snow, too! I think your snow is deeper, though. Maybe you will need snowshoes! ; )

Hello from a new follower and new steemit gal! Beautiful pics! I am a fellow plant lover... I look forward to reading your future posts and engaging further.

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you share some of your Ozark plants and walks, too! :D

It would be very fun to continue walking with you through the forest. Oh! There are a lot of snow all over the area. I really love it, as I always told you, ha ha! ;)))

Apart from cooking and planting, you also are an expert in those animals traces.... Really great!

Thanks so much for sharing these beautiful things in the forest with us! ;)

I know you are a lover of nature! There is always so much to see. And the snow sure helps with that! It would be nice to be able to see those tracks, or smell the animals -- just like the animals do. But I have to wait for the snow. ; )

Ah! It seems that you know almost everything about me! I much appreciate it! ;))

Yes, nature and snow are beautiful things that I love..... You have to wait for the snow and I have to wait for your photos..... Looking forward to seeing them with much interest! ;D

beautiful pictures. I love it

Nice background photo sir.i like your post. Thanks giving next post :) @haphazard

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87