Walk with me #5 : The walk home through the sleeping park

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Few times a week I have a compulsory walk to my French lessons, though, I guess I am quite lucky since my path crosses the most beautiful park in Strasbourg - "Parc de l'Orangerie". I did not want to take pictures before it had a chance to wake up from the winter's slumber and show itself in all its glory but the last time, crossing it I couldn't stop the urge to snap few pictures because it looked so different and mysterious in the dying light.
Let me share with you the results.

The view that encouraged me to start taking pictures was a massive cloud of crows circling the top of the trees. Unfortunately, when my camera was ready most of the birds were already settled down.
20180208_173855.jpg

The odd shaped trees are pretty green in summer and look less creepy. On top of the branches, you can see the nests of Storks. As I've mentioned before, Stork is a proud symbol of Alsace. So, to contribute to its population, Orangerie pack (and its surroundings) has plenty of nests always ready for these birds to make it their home.
20180208_173902.jpg

The very first inhabitants this year.
20180208_174010.jpg

It is still considered a wintertime so days are pretty short. Lonely lights beginning to shine pretty early.
20180208_174017.jpg
20180208_174043.jpg

Some beauty remnants that survived the winter.
2018011sf_162258.jpg

This park is full of life. If you are lucky there are quite a few squirrels that can be seen hopping around. Though I wonder who is occupying this tiny hollow?
20180208_174345.jpg

Like I said, Storks are the kings of this city and region. They are welcome with the open arms everywhere. Seems that they do not complain.
20180208_174454.jpg

Each tree in Boulevard de l'Orangerie (street parallel to the park) has at least one Stork nest with at least two inhabitants... at least for now...going to be much more with the arrival of spring. :)
20180208_174530.jpg

And finally, the typical Strasbourgoise architecture and a couple of live statues on top. It is curious though, this couple of Storks can be seen at the same spot every evening since they came back. Is that some kind of ritual before going to sleep?
20180208_174509.jpg

Thank you for joining me.
Have a lovely week everyone!

Much love <3
@gretum

Sort:  

This was a wonderful walk. Beautiful photos. That building at the end is exceptionally beautiful. We don't have such where I come from. Funny when I travel to places with beautiful architecture I stare at houses like food. Thank you for sharing this with us.

I know how you feel. I do the same. Beautiful old architecture is something that always impresses me the most. All the details and when you come to think of it, people even didn't have tools to make it happen as we do now....
Thank you for stopping by and leaving such a lovely comment.

super cool tour!

I love the funky trees. . . and the epic row of Storks!!

thanks for sharing :-)

Thank you for stopping by to have a look :)

Try boosting the contrast a bit! Other than that, well done. Good luck with French. Cheers!

Thank you very much for the advice! I am yet to master the art of photography :)
And well, French is something that I do really need a lot of luck with. Beautiful language but terribly difficult to learn.

Hi my dear
Sorry for my disappear (supper busy for my new job) anyway, I try to come back and post .. miss you and miss reading your post ..
Big hug from T.J.
:D

Hello hun, yes I've noticed that you were gone, but glad to see that you are alright :)

I am good just very busy but thank you for your kindness :D
Hug hug

From this post I feel like you are really lucky because you could enjoyed all beautiful park and nature .

In New Orleans where I live it is quite hard to find a pretty park like this but I believe we have some in NO.

Well , I will share of mine in the near future
Love you
T.J.

Do not be disappointed if New Orleans doesn't have parks or nature around. As far as I know its cultural heritage is very rich so it should be really amazing to live there and experience it on the first hand :)

Now my husband and I we try to figure out the nature place in NO in case we would like to walk or do some exercise after work (we both prefer to workout outside the gym). And in case we find some nice park , I will share on steemit :-) soon hopefully :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gretum from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05