The abandoned building and creek Walk with me.

in #walkwithme7 years ago

We have gotten so much snow yesterday and this morning, it made my walk quite the challenge. I had almost decided to not to blog about it. 2 days ago when I did #walkwithme trails from my backyard, I posted a picture of a statue, man with the bottle of gin. Here he is with all the extra snow. Cant see his bottle anymore. Sad little man... hes crying on the inside. IMG_2295[1].JPG

So here is the images I took of the abandoned building. Winter has cleaned it up actually. Its usually never this white and it seems to me that someone has starting to tend to it. Hopefully you can see a crack in the brick wall, it will soon fall. And on the other side of the building used to be a big hole in the wall but to my surprise they filled it up with more bricks. I was hoping to get a few shots of the inside. It has been abandoned for more than 15 yrs I believe, built in the 1930s-40s. It used to be a restaurant with arcade games in the back and apartments upstairs when I was a child. We have a few buildings in town that have been abandoned and some already torn down. I think 3 of them already this year. This town was built as mining town (gold mine). 75% of the houses are all the same all built in the same time frame. IMG_2298[1].JPG
IMG_2303[1].JPG
While on the subject on crapped out buildings here is another one I thought I'd shareIMG_2338[1].JPG
I dont understand this hole. I can see it goes to different rooms. But as a kid there was never a balcony there. I would love to one day grab a ladder and explore :D Is it haunted? lol IMG_2339[1].JPG
Ok back to the walk. It was a hard one. So much snow had fallen that the path had disappeared. I brought Frankie with me and pulled her through the deep snow. What a work out! IMG_2305[1].JPG
as we walked the path some we finally came upon a trail packer. Quite thankful for that as I was starting to take off the layers of warmth. Here is Frankie :) IMG_2311[1].JPG

It was a beautiful day, the sun was shining, the birds were singing, the forest provided us with protection from the wind. It was really nice. Can you see the little bird? IMG_2320[1].JPG
Got to the creek and it made me sad. Couldnt see anything. I tried to get a picture of the flow but I couldnt get close enough to it. The snow was too deep and going downhill I couldnt trust what was going on underneath me. IMG_2324[1].JPG
IMG_2325[1].JPG
So we head back home. It was still fun to spend time outside with the birds. Frankie was happy ^_^ IMG_2336[1].JPG

I hope that even though the building was closed up and the creek hidden by father winter, that it was still an interesting read. I promise come spring there will be a huge difference and much beauty and life will come to the forest.... and hopefully the bears will stay at a distance.

Sort:  

Wonderful captures, I'm so glad you shared @foxyspirit! That crumbling brick wall was pretty cool, and that mysterious hole...wow...if you do get up there one day you are seriously BRAVE!!

Nice clear shot of the little birdie, and of course, it's so good to see you and your sweet daughter, makes it so personal :) :) xoxo Steem On! You are amazing!

Thank you so much :D Im planning on going up there, I want to see it so bad lol I have to find the perfect time when no one is around. I dont want to get in trouble. On the main floor was another restaurant. They made the best poutines there when I was a kid, so it really gets me curious to see what else is in there. Im wondering if all the old kitchen stuff and decorations are there lol And that bird... lol quite the bouncy one, took me a gazillion tries to get him :p Have a great evening ^_^ xx

A very interesting read. That is a lot of snow! We haven't had hardly any this year, less than usual, though as I look out the window, there is still some left from the storm like, a week and a half ago.

it is a lot of snow. But its still less than the previous years here as well. I remember one year, we werent able to see the road. The snow banks were so high they covered the windows. Im kind of glad its not that high cause we get to a point where we dont know where to put it anymore when shoveling driveways. But that also means environmental changes.

If You follow upvote comment and resteem i will do same..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55758.52
ETH 2348.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31