You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Walk With Me [5] - Saunter in the Siuslaw National Forest - Part 2

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Foxglowes? it is not very widespread in our region. I saw it only once and even made a short post about it 9 month ago

But you know, girls usually look at the flowers, not the leaves:-))))) and that was my mistake.
Of course, when you see the flowers, plant is much easier to identify. But with having only leaves... Yeah, we should be carefull trying to find something edible outside of own garden.
Skunk Cabbage was also quite a new plant for me, I had to make some research in Wiki to find more info about it.

Thank you for the science and for the pleasant gift despite the fact that we both did not guess:)

Sort:  

That's a great picture of the foxglove flowers, @erikaflynn! Almost all of the articles I've read about cases of foxglove poisoning (and there are a lot of them), happened from plants in gardens, not out in the wild. It's so easy for someone to be too casual about the picking -- or for a friend or family member to help in the garden, but not take the same care in picking. At least Comfrey and Foxglove flowers are a lot different! That's not the case for some other kinds of edible wild plants that get confused with toxic ones. Thanks for being bold enough to answer my mystery question -- and helping me make my point about the Foxglove!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91