You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ~ 71 ~ Walk With Me Around the Home in Stead

in #walkwithme6 years ago

I know, I'm dreading the next drop. I don't think I can handle another two weeks of freeze, but one can one do? Spend more time on Steemit of course.

Do you just let the hens sit on what they like or do you give them certain breed eggs to hatch? I can't wait for one of my gals to go broody because I am going to order a dozen Cream Legbar eggs to stick under her. I am going to try a flock of these to see if they will aide in our chickens being better at free ranging. They are supposed to be great free rangers and they are sex linked so you know what you have, hen or rooster, at hatch! I can't wait for Spring!

Sort:  

We were putting under our own eggs last spring/summer. This year we are going to get some fertilized silkie eggs and hatch those. We may also hatch our own breed of chicks for neighbours, but won't be keeping any of our own, in our flock. Too many of the same genes, need new blood in here. :)

That is a good idea. I can't say enough good things about silkies as pets. They are so gentle and loving and make great mothers, they'll hatch anything. The only downside is they are always at the bottom of the pecking order and are not too predator proof. If your flock hatches and raises them though they should just accept them straight on and protect them I suppose, right? I can't wait to see silkie chicks!

Oh wait I missed that bit, your own breed! I hav alwyas wnated to do this and try for specific traits. The gene study of this is so interesting. Have you ever been on the online backyardchickens forum? The level of breeding and scientific records some of the cross breeders keep are really interesting, well if you are a chicken nerd they are ;)

Yessss, backyardchickens is my go to chicken bible of info! I've gotten so much knowledge from there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44