Buying my own Christmas gifts on a walkabout Canterbury

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

I indulged myself yesterday and bought Christmas gifts for myself.

dec21gifts.jpg

I could not resist this adorable antique print of a flying squirrel framed.
dec21squirrel.jpg
It just touched me when I saw it. I love quirky and animals and certainly old illustrations, so I just had to have it.

As some may know I am a collector of bones, antlers, and taxidermy.

So, when I saw this actual horn on display in the window of the shop, I knew it was to be mine.

I hadn't any intentions of buying myself gifts yesterday, but Canterbury was insanely busy.

I headed off after my morning ramble to the city to work in my favourite cafe corner. I was rudely reminded it was a few days before Christmas with the quantity of people about as well as the large amounts of noisy families.

I've nothing against joyful families with children.

In fact, I might be even a bit envious as I always thing what a joy it must be to have a child or children at this time of the year. When I think of the elaborate traditions I'd most likely set about had I child of my own, but alas the God's never bestowed such a bundle under My Christmas tree.

It was simply that the noise and quantity of crying children made it impossible to get any work done.

Which is fine, as it is a public space and who am I too think it there just for me. This is when I miss London where I can either go to my club or the London Library, both places that are not public and also never have crying children in...but I digress.

Realizing work was impossible, I was taken out of my funk by the sound of Christmas music from a street band.

dec21band.jpg
This isn't a very good picture of the moment, but this is taken from the floor where I like to sit looking down on the High street and that milling of people around the Salvation Army band playing lovely Christmas music.

Why try to work when I could be out there amongst them; and off I went out into the throng of Christmas shoppers.

Canterbury truly is a lively little city.

It is fun to just walk about and see the little shops. I have done it endless times now, but I always come across another little place that I have missed. And some things that amuse me as well.

This, for example, is a shop called Korean Cow Girl.
dec22city2.jpg

As an American and a horse fanatic this had a special meaning for me. You see, in America there are 2 types of riding, one English and one Western. Western would certainly be associated with 'cowgirl' in the states. However, I was always of the 'English' school of riding and never really liked Western riding or the large uncomfortable saddles.

Here you can see the 'Saddle stools' are indeed what we call English saddles.

Of course this IS England, so it's simply a saddle. Not very amusing to most, but it made me smile none the less.

This is an ancient city so one simply bumps up against old buildings all the time.
dec22city1.jpg
The old timebers and leaded windows add so much beauty to the city.

And places, such as the King's School are truly impressive.
dec22city4.jpg
Simply set in amongst the city is the Public (for American's Private) King's School. This is the oldest operating Public (private) school in the world, having been created in 587 A.D. It is a beautiful building and there are many wonderful bits to it.

This shot I took was simply the view I see as I walk to the darling little antique shop where I got my Christmas gifts.

dec21shop.jpg
It's a favourite little haunt of mine as it is so tiny but packed full of little treasures. You literally have to stand one at a time in the two little openings in front of large glass fronted cases reaching the ceiling filled to the brim. All sorts of things from china doll heads to stacks of books and of course treasures like my horn and other odds bits and bobs.

I am just back from our long 5 mile ramble this morning.

We took a new way trying to find a wood, but managed only a copse instead and after follwing it along through an amazing old farmyard, we found we were on the road to the Tadpole tearoom! What joy hit us! Our mouths watering with the thoughts of hot tea and delights, only to find that it was shut for the holiday season.

One has to remember that the English, unlike the American, will close up shop choosing family over commerce.

And although I was gasping for a tea, I was rather glad to hear they were shut until after Christmas. That said to me their workers and families trumped the possibility of heavier purses. I like that.

Our walk ended with a visit to our Saturday farmers market where I bought a tray of Pansy and Forget me nots', what joy to plant these Spring plants now and to have them through this English Winter.

I hope all of you have a lovely day and get a moment to get out and smell the fresh air. Now, I am settled down with my pot of tea and mean to get to work. I've some new sketches I am working on and having a good think about what I want my New Years Art Resolution to be...I'll have a good ponder on that one.

Please feel free to upvote, resteem, and by all means leave a comment.

Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

Footer_donnadavisart.png


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

too bad you did not go into 'Mrs. Bird's chocolates shop'! ;)
I love the old buildings. That door is monstrous. Jason commented today while we were out that it is a good thing we never had kids as we spend so much on the dog, we could only imagine the debt we'd go into with kids! Happy Christmas vibes!

I like that by reading your post, I get to know more and more about Canterbury, it feels like a beautiful place filled with antique shops and other exciting avenues. I am glad to experience it vicariously.

Looks like a cool shop, but I could never understand how you all could ride a horse with those flimsy saddles and your legs tucked up any how :) I mean really, you have a little bump and you could poke yourself in the butt with your own spurs...

Of course, we worked some out of our saddles, so that answers part of the question. You had to have a pommel and a horn to move ornrey cattle around. Not to mention roping.

I almost never wore spurs. I got a pair when I was about 12 and probably had them on about 3 times. We had some line horses we used when we were working cattle and they were just barely broke. I'd ride my mare the first day and a line horse the second so I wouldn't wear her out. You had to train those line horses on the move, spurs helped with that.

Anyway, a delightful post. There is no doubt I'd like the coffee shop/tea house and the antique place looks wonderful. Great score on the gifts, Merry Christmas to YOU!

Well, I have ridden on a Western Saddle before, for odd trail rides on holidays and such ,but they were always so big, we called the 'lazy-boy' saddles because they felt like your legs stuck out so far and you had no contact with the horse.

Yes with English you need leg contact, as you give the horse various signals with your legs and our stirrups are quite different as well and as we use both hands on the reins, we don't need the horn to hold onto, as with Western you neck rein, but the control for the English horse is in it's mouth.

We used to shorted our stirrups up really close and sit like a jockey and gallop through fields, stupid, but fun. And for going over fences and things you want to have close contact with your horse and also not a heavy saddle that might come off. To each their own, for sure.

I once had a thoroughbred/quarterhorse cross that used to be used for barrel racing (Western) and my friend and I took him on one year to train him to be a good hunter .We spent months lengthening his stride with the posts from jumps and hours lunging him. He did eventually get it, and his trot was much smoother.

I never really wore spurs, but English spurs are like tiny little nubbins compared to the scary Western ones I have seen. Even though I have used a crop and spurs before it was only to just touch the horse in the flank or next to get them over a fence, never whip or gouge or anything. I really miss riding and hope to find a place locally to get back into it, even if it has to be next years trip. This year is all about settling into our area and such.

I love our little city and there are quite a few fun places to hang out and have tea and or coffee. I haven't done a post about tiny tim tea room yet, it's really great in there as well.

Happy Christmas and I hope you get some good stuff. @bigtom13

wow, it's really an adorable antique print! I love the ancient prints and when I visit an atique market they always caprure my attention! My favorites are about animals and plants, but I like also the ancient illustrations with different scenes ^^ I can't wait to go to the next ancient markets here in my city! ^^

I really thought it was cute too @silviabeneforti I am just drawn to quirky animal prints and imagery. And I also love botanical prints and art as well as architectural pieces.

I bet you have an amazing market in your city.

oh wow it's so cute! I'm always taken by such sweet designs, especially since there are quite a few now around the holidays. I'm glad you treated yourself to a little something! You deserve it :)
And the town looks really lovely. it is indeed a good thing to close up and take a rest for a few days. To be honest, I don't get the American thing of not taking a break. It's really good to spend some time with family and recharge batteries :)
I'm glad you're having a lovely time!

Well, I don't know if I deserve it or not @honeydue, but I did it anyway ;) I'm pretty easy to please, so silly little trinkets from antique shops always amuse me.

I like a lot of the 'English' ways and have always felt more akin to things over here than back in USA but the overworked retail workers in USA are truly put to the test at Christmas time, that is for sure.

I hope you have a good Christmas as well.

I love that print and the pics of the old buildings 😍

Posted using Partiko iOS

Canterbury is just teeming with some amazing old buildings, @mountainjewel. I need to catch up with you as well, as I see you are back from your silence retreat.

Oh interesting that you collect antlers. My dad used to collect antlers and growing up we had antlers hanging on every wall in the house LOL. I love the old buildings especially King's School :)

Yes, @coloringiship I've always been fascinated by antlers, bones, taxidermy, shells, stones, moss, you name it I love to collect them. :)

This was delightful to walk with you through this charming place Donna ! Thank you ! ^_^
j6rxhnplmk.png

Well, thank you @barbara-orenya I was glad to share it. I have SO many pictures so I need to keep posting to share more and I've not even done any really good London ones yet.

Such beautiful pictures and a lovely stroll with you around Canterbury! :)
The only downside to everything closing for Christmas here in England is that everyone goes crazy before the shops shut to get as much food in the house as possible! haha
Merry Christmas to you and a Happy New Year! :D
Cheryl (BB) xx

Oh well @beautifulbullies, it's still so much nicer to know that workers and shop owners are getting some family time. We are so retail crazy in the USA and the poor retail workers are so mistreated and overworked and underpaid. I think it's a good mix here of realistic goals and time for family and tradition. Many things are just more sensible here in the UK compared to USA.

You really feel like you're my eyes and ears at Canterbury, Donna ! What magical posts <3 That flying squirrel art is so darling * ___ * I can see why you couldn't resist it :)

I, too, have no problems with families and children but in great quantity, yes, I find them to be quite overwhelming myself.... so I can relate to you there, for sure !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66982.11
ETH 2591.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67