Walk with me around Hanoi

in #walkwithme7 years ago (edited)

I have just returned from Vietnam after a two week trip with my brother @fronttowardenemy. Most of these photos were taken in the old quarter which is basically the touristy area of the city. We did a lot of walking here so this will be more of a compilation rather than a single walk.


We did do some traveling outside of Hanoi. More posts to come :)

20180111_210126.jpg

We walked over to the Ho Chi Min Museum area for a selfie

20180110_231651.jpg20180111_224615.jpg
Lots of birds were chirpingThe ladder store was open for business

clean.png

20180111_201629.jpg20180110_220250.jpg

Vendors of all sorts were ready to deliver

20180119_232408.jpg
This lady should be in the guinness book of world records!

clean ornate.png

Old and new buildings surrounded us. The city is truly amazing.


20180119_212006.jpg

If you need more room, just keep building.


20180119_230029.jpg

clean.png

20180111_204852.jpg20180111_214249.jpg
We visited the single pillar pagodaAs well as an old gate that got blasted by French cannons

Our walk back to the hotel went through a nice botanical garden.


20180111_211832.jpg
clean ornate.png

At night, the city is just as busy as the day up until around one AM.

20180121_053727.jpg20180121_053626.jpg

Street performers and squid snacks! What else could you ask for? I guess beer, friends and food are good too. :)

20180120_053647.jpg
clean.png

We were lucky enough to be able to attend the first Hanoi steemit Meet up while we were there.


the whole group.jpg

I've only met one other steemian in real life. So it was pretty awesome to be apart of the meet up and be in a room with 25 other steemians who were so enthusiastic about steem.


20180121_043717.jpg
pictured left to right are fellow steemians @frontowardenemy, @hanggggbeeee, @little-princess, @derekcowan, and me.

Thanks for walking through Hanoi with me and as always....


Keep being Cool Steemit!


doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

Nice! How did you enjoy the trip? I am off to Hanoi this weekend with a bunch of friends. We are doing a 5 day motorbike trip, gonna be awesome, can’t wait

We rented bikes in Ha Giang from QT Motorbikes. They had very reasonable rates and tons of information about the route. Their bikes were all in excellent condition and had luggage racks.

If you have "sleeper bus" scheduled on your trip, consider paying a little extra for better transportation. If you're not Asian-sized the sleeper buses are never worth it, no matter how much money you save. A few bucks more for a luxury van is money well-spent in my book.

Thanks for the info. I’ve been to Vietnam a few times and I completely agree, skip the sleeper buses for sure, very claustrophobic being in those little pods for a long ride. Our bike trip is pre planned. 5 days all inclusive. Planning on doing a halong bay tour afterwards. Did you get a chance to do a cruise around the bay?

No, I've been to Hanoi on two different trips to Vietnam and still haven't visited Halong. I want to go, but I never seem to have enough time.

Have fun out there! Hopefully, the weather will treat you right. We got really lucky with our 7 days of riding and only encountered heavy fog on one morning. We didn't hit any rain while riding.

It was the best! Once you get out of the city, riding becomes a bit more enjoyable. :)
Have a great trip and stay safe.

Dude what a great post! Love the formatting. I enjoyed going on the walk with you :) That is cool you got to attend a Steemit meetup! Did you see this? https://steemit.com/dtube/@carlgnash/3od0nd5p

(your song for the entry in the Gnash Song Challenge) :)

Much love - Carl

Thank you sir! That song turned out great!

This looks like such a GREAT trip. Thanks for sharing. I'm glad you got to compare notes with other Steemians ... that looked like fun.

The meet up was definitely a highlight of the trip.

Forgot to mention I love the shirt mate.

Hahah! Thanks. I won it in a contest when I first joined steemit. :)

dang, so lucky, i wanna be there for chinese new years but i have to be in the states blehh .. happy travels!

We just got back home which is nice too. The travels were happy :)

Wowww!! Thank you for bringing me across the world with you @doctorcrypto! That was a pretty amazing #walkwithme! My favourite part was the Guiness World Record holder (she is in my books!) and of course the selfies!!! Thank you!!!

The amount of stuff the Vietnamese people can put on a bike or scooter is mind blowing! It never ceased to amaze me. :)

I really hope I will make it to Vietnam this year! Will browse through your previous posts now haha

Following for more ;-)

Vietnam is a wonderful place to visit and experience. Try to go if you can. :)

Awesome photos. I was in Vietnam earlier this year. I saw a bicycle with baskets loaded like that pottery...I have to say...the pottery is far more impressive. I like Hoi An best, but Hanoi had some redeeming qualities.

I don't think I could ever live in a city that busy but it was definitely an eye opening experience and well worth it.

Beautiful pictures! Looks like you had a great time!

Indeed we did!
There are more adventures to post about. :)

Man, I love Hanoi and this brought back some good memories. It would have been cool to be there during a meetup and get to know a bunch of people while visiting. Thanks for the post.

Ya I couldn't have asked for more. The Vietnamese people are so nice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67905.30
ETH 2637.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67