Decompression time: A lovely hike, a time to rest

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Today I went for one of the prettiest walks in the world to unwind, and sat by a beautiful mountain creek. I am releasing several months worth of racing and scrambling and being so anxious--- for months even when I was resting, my mind stayed in the race.

But I am finally to a peak of my own personal mountain...For the next week or so, I plan to make it a point to just chill, and enjoy the view, as much as possible. Plus, its the prettiest time of the year here in Montana, and I need to get out there and soak it up!

Here I am laying down on the roots of a huge tree. I laid there for a while today, just listening to the birds and the water rushing by.

IMG_20180520_132902619.jpg

Here's a video of the water, and you can listen to the sound. I was laying on that big tree's roots...

Sidenote: it seems my phone's camera was not able to render the movement of the stream. Does anyone know why it is so pixelated? Is that just a frame rate thing? Is there anything to be done about it? I have an andriod phone, motorolla one, a Project Fi phone. Its a great phone, but this kind of surprised me. Thoughts?

Listen to this song for: mood

*Press play and keep scrolling! *

I accomplished some hard stuff this week. And I feel this song so much, thinking back on the past few years..... its a cover of the R Kelly song...

Sometimes it's hard to believe that I really live here, or that any of this is real..

IMG_20180520_125828505_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180520_125833750_HDR.jpg

These twisting roots make me feel like I am in a fairy tale..

IMG_20180520_134403171.jpg

I don't have a lot of words right now

I am intentionally switching my brain powers over to the right side of my brain. I have been using the linear, planning, writing, thinking, studying, test-taking side of my brain way too much, and I want to get back into the creative side some more again. So today i am just being present, inviting non-linear thought, images, pictures , music.. to all dominate my brain. Even explaining this feels overwrought.

Come visit me

For those of you that have made friends with me these past few months, I would love to take you exploring in these woods this summer. Its just too much to hoard all to myself.

Heres another song that is about spring, mountains, and a feeling ...

Fleet Foxes song "Ragged Woods" ENJOY!
Lyrics:
Whoa-oh-oh

Come down from the mountain, you have been gone too long
The spring is upon us, follow my only song
Settle down with me by the fire of my yearning
You should come back home, back on your own now

The world is alive now, in and outside our home
You run through the forest, settle before the sun
Darling, I can barely remember you beside me
You should come back home, back on your own now

And even in the light, when the woman of the woods came by

To give to you the word of the old man
In the morning tide when the sparrow and the seagull fly
And Johnathan and Evelyn get tired

Lie to me if you will at the top of Beringer Hill
Tell me anything you want, any old lie will do
Call me back to you

xo ,

dflo

Sort:  

A beautiful time of year in a beautiful part of the country!

Let it go sister xoxo :)

Such a beautiful scenery. Those roots are fascinating and make me think about our lives tangled with stress and anxiety...and finding space, space for yourself and for your mind to untangle them and see their beauty. Enjoy!

ooooo! yes I wish I had thought of that! Good one! :) Or to just let them be beautiful all tangled.. to stop trying to untangle, to let life grow and entwine naturally....

Oh definitely, was just my projection over that beauty. I grew up in a village surrounded by forests and I feel a direct connection to trees, so I project my feelings and memories and they help me elaborate! :D

Awesome!

Your clearly listening to your heart/ inner being these days. It was about time ;>)

Even though I can't watch that water video - did you put the video settings on private? - I feel part of me is there walking along with you.

Nice music too. Making covers of R Kelly's work that are way better than his original songs, is a great idea, haha!

I like the fleet foxes although I haven't listened to it enough yet.

Talking about mountains and animals, one of my very favorite bands is called Mountain Goats. Ever heard of them? I'm pretty sure you like them...

I saw them live once or twice :>)

I wish you an awesome day ❤

I thought of you when I was hiking, because I figured you would like this place. can you see the video now? Somehow it wasn't published yet.

I was able to check out the water video now and man, there's some strength behind that stream. And talking about it being pixelated.... it's not that bad if you put youtube on HD. I think it's literally youtube and your phone not being able to handle the energy of this flood water ;>)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81