WalkWithMe #1 - Family Walk at Peace Valley Park

in #walkwithme7 years ago

The Prologue

Being a travel blogger for some nine years now and a part of travel fraternity, I always come across the terms TravelWithMe used by many of the travelers. The two flavors of this version I saw was either they will tell you a travel story in TravelWithMe to make you travel with them virtually or they will form a travel company, become a travel guide/tour operator and lend their expertise to you which they call TravelWithMe. As I was exploring more on Steemit, I came across a new concept (at least new to me) introduced on Steemit by @lyndsaybowes known by the name #walkwithme.

image.png

The moment I read about it and read a couple of stories she shares in her post, I realized how I was missing on those simple things in life called everyday family walks 😁 ... I am used to writing travel tales of my travel but I never realized that a short walk to a near by park or community or lake also has a story to tell. Writing the travel tales helps you share them with other fellow travelers and cherish those memories again and again when you want to relive. With this wonderful concept, actually, I can relive those wonderful yet simple moments of life you spent with your loved ones in the past.

Today I am going to share a lovely walk from recent past that I took with my wife and kid nearby our current home in Pennsylvania, US.

A Family Walk at Peace Valey Park #1

It had been a couple of years since I moved from India on a temporary official assignment and the best part I loved in this movement is the walks and hikes that you can undertake nearby your home in the state parks or lakes. We are lucky to have few state parks around our locality and we go often especially in summers, fall and spring seasons to have a cup of tea nearby the lake. Out of many walks from the past, I will start with one that I took in August 2017.

It was about time for my son's birthday and we were looking for a place to throw a get-together. Suddenly my wife said why not do it in open at the Lake Galena in Peace Valley Park. The weather remains pleasant in August / September and kids will have fun playing out too. Without a second thought, we took the car and drove to Peace Valley Park which is about 15 minutes of drive from our house to do a recce of the place and select the pavilion.

It was our second visit to the Lake Galena and we realized how beautiful it could be on a sunny day in summers. The lake offers a beautiful walking/running/cycling trail of about 14 miles around it. We kept walking from one pavilion to another and choose which one should we take up considering all aspects.

image.png

image.png

image.png

The kiddo (Pratyaksh) was enjoying a lot as I and Deepti (my wife) explored the pavilions and finally chose one nearby to the lake for Pratyaksh's birthday party. We wanted to have access to the parking as well because my plan was to play cricket (yeah in US) with my buddies 😂 😂

image.png

image.png

After selecting the pavilion, as we walked by the trail, we could see ton's of open spaces to enjoy basking in the sun and shade. And then I felt tired and relaxed on the bench right at the lake. It was such a beautiful feeling and I still remember cursing myself for not bringing the tea and snacks for the enjoyment but next time we did not make that mistake (will cover that walk in some other part of this series 😄 )

image.png
image.png

Like I said they had all the fun 😇
image.png

image.png

In the next part of this simple yet amazing series #walkwithme, I will be sharing another walk we had with our friends from New Jersey at Lake Galena, Peace Valley Park. This time we did take tea and snacks to enjoy besides the lovely benches.

Next Part Teaser

image.png

See you next week to ---

"Walk With Me" or you can say "Walk With Devil" 😝 😝

About Me

A travel blogger by heart, a lover of the Himalayas by soul and a software engineer by profession. Here, on Steemit, you can get to know more about me by reading my introduction post at the link An intro of a twisted DEVIL :-) ... You can find me spreading smiles in the Himalayas through my travel blog & community forums where I write about traveling and promoting responsible travel in the Himalayas.

Do you also love traveling to the Himalayas?



image.png

Follow Me: @devilonwheels

Sort:  

That was so beautiful...the best part was your inclusion of the beaming smiles from your wife and child! They really brightened up my day! Thank you @devilonwheels for such a fantastic #walkwithme post!!

All thanks to you for helping relive these moments with your lovely idea of #walkwithme !! I am glad you liked the smiles...

Wonderful post Dheeraj. And what an incredible series , I think I'll also write a blog post on similar lines :)

I bet you should, you will love it.

i like your post & upvote it. Do you believe in love. then you definitely have to vote for this post. your upvote is very needed for me. https://steemit.com/love/@maggiea/all-you-need-in-your-life-is-just-love

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43