#WalkWithMe - Sofia, Bulgaria

in #walkwithme6 years ago

I lived in Sofia for around 13 years, which is a little less than half of my life, but the only time that I took some photos there was when I was a student, we had a summer practical training in drawing and we had to draw 7 pictures of emblematic buildings of Sofia. The idea, of course, was that we had to watch and draw them, but we all were smart, photographed them and had a cool way to transfer the contours on the paper and to continue from there.. It was summer and too hot to spend the day outside drawing.

I also remember how surprised I was when a friend of mine mentioned long time ago while we were chatting “yeah, and the downtown of Sofia is so beautiful”.. That made me think.. Sofia.. beautiful? The best thing for me in Sofia was the closeness and the view of Vitosha mountain (and many other places with great nature too) and I didn't consider Sofia as a beautiful city at all. I liked it most when I was looking at it from a higher and distant point in the mountains near it. It’s typical to not pay much attention to the city you live in, I think. Its downtown was a place that I would try to avoid at any cost during the day - traffic jams, people, noise - not my favorite things for sure. Later I used to take walks around the city at night when I could easily find a parking place and there weren’t so much people and I started to pay more attention of it. Ok, I agree - there are some beautiful places.

I often say in my posts “It’s much more beautiful than it looks from the photos”. But for this one I am not going to lie - it’s not very different, maybe even better without the side effects, that I mentioned- people, noise, traffic jams and polluted air. If you don’t like them, I wouldn’t recommend you to visit Sofia. But if you are a city type of person and enjoy visiting places with plenty of historical spots and religious buildings, then I think Sofia would have a lot to offer you.

A while ago I had to visit it, and I was already leaving the city, when I thought that I could use the opportunity that I’m there and to capture some photos. I admit that I did it only because of Steemit, otherwise - no chance. My plan was to cover a much bigger area, but my shoes were too uncomfortable, so maybe next time. That was my second time of taking pictures around Sofia and in this post I'll share with you some of them.

I decided to use the subway that could spare me the unpleasant driving through the whole city.
The subway can be compared to a time machine. As you exit the station, the first thing you see is a small medieval church.

FSCN5211.JPG

FSCN5275.JPG

FSCN5217.JPG

...and then - plenty of Roman ruins. Yes, our Sofia used to be a fancy Roman city - Serdika, some 2000 years ago.

FSCN5248.JPG

FSCN5215.JPG

FSCN5241.JPG

The ruins are part of the restored Ancient Roman Complex of Serdica, where you can walk on the well preserved pavement of a 2000 years old main Roman road and see the foundations of ancient buildings and a religious building.

The complex covers an area of eight streets of the ancient city, a Christian Basilica, six large buildings with mosaic floors, courtyards, baths, public toilets and their associated water supply and sewage systems. Most of its part is in a underpass, where I didn’t go that time.

There is also part of an amphitheater almost as big as the Coliseum in Rome nearby, discovered while a hotel was being built. They still built it and a restored part of the amphitheater is in its basement now :D!

IMG_0046.JPG

FSCN5220.JPG

These yellow bricks are kind of a symbol of the city and the glass domes cover part of the Roman ruins in the underpass.

FSCN5226.JPG

For sure this part of Sofia don't lack of divercity. Medieval Church, then Roman ruins and then a mosque.

FSCN5239.JPG

FSCN5251.JPG

... of course with more ruins..

FSCN5265.JPG

..Together with another landmark of the Sofia - The Central Mineral Baths. The city is known for its mineral springs in the area, and this building functioned as a public bath until 1986, now it accommodates The Sofia Regional Historical Museum.

FSCN5257.JPG

FSCN5263.JPG

FSCN5271.JPG

FSCN5272.JPG

FSCN5325.JPG

FSCN5300.JPG

One more public bath, this one is still functioning. But you can enter it only if you are a dove, though.

FSCN5283.JPG

FSCN5284.JPG

FSCN5341.JPG

FSCN5339.JPG

FSCN5338.JPG

FSCN5337.JPG

Another beautiful place with a long history is the Rotunda St George. It is actually the oldest preserved building in the city. It was built by the Romans in the 4th century, when Sofia was the residence of the emperors Galerius and Constantine the Great. It is located in the courtyard between the Sheraton hotel and the Presidency.

FSCN5330.JPG

FSCN5324.JPG

FSCN5323.JPG

FSCN5319.JPG

FSCN5315.JPG

FSCN5301.JPG

FSCN5306.JPG

FSCN5331.JPG

Next stop - St Nedelya square and St Nedelya's Cathedral. I truly like this spot, that's why I chose the cathedral for one of my seven paintings. It has a rich historical background too. It's assumed that the temple was built in 10th century, but through the ages it was reconstructed many times for various purposes - expansion, renovation, restoration after natural disaster, abuse of property,etc. The last time was in 1933. Its interior is really beautiful too.

FSCN5299.JPG

FSCN5296.JPG

FSCN5285.JPG

FSCN5290.JPG

FSCN5295.JPG

Thank you for checking out my blog!

Sort:  

One thing I noticed is the reddish color of the bricks. It’s very impressive how these bricks have kept their color trough the centuries. Great work girl 👊

It’s hard to believe it’s so old, isn’t it?
Thank you very much, @melip! :))

Wow, thank you so much for this 'trip back in time'. I had no clue how ancient a city Sofia is...I loved the first little church outside the subway station, and the little bathing doves were the cutest darn thing ever!!

This one really took my breath away:

This is my favourite too :))) Thank you very much, Lyndsay, glad you liked it :)

Great walkaround through Sofia, @danielapetk. Fantastic mix of cultures and religions, like all over Balkans :)

Thank you very much, @lighteye! Glad you liked it :)

I was Sofia about 15 or 16 years ago. The only thing I really remember though is the yellow brick road.

I usually also don’t remember much of the cities, that I’ve been to 😄 and 15 years is a long time. Cool that you noticed the yellow roads :)

Love the birds, which reminds me of when I was in Saigon.

Thank you very much for your comment :)

Много добър репортаж! ;)
I lived in Sofia for about six years. Then I moved back to my birth town, where I'm living for the last decade...

Благодаря! :)

Пак заповядай! ;)

You have taken a lot of good photos of a nice city with much to explore. Great to have a look.

Thank you very much, @harkar ! Glad you liked it! :) Have a great weekend!

Thanks. Same to you :-)

I love how those two dress-wearing bald aliens were happy to pose for your photograph. Such a friendly place apparently. :)

Ok, so I’m just kidding...My favourite is the one of the arches leading towards the green foliage in the distance. It sort of reminds me of how you prefer the countryside and yet have to traverse the city at times to get there. A journey to enlightenment.

Ps. I went to school with a girl called Sofia. Just saying. :)

This is my favorite too, but I am surprised you didn't choose some ruins :D! And I like your interpretation, you always have a good one!! New beginning, a journey to enlightenment.. :) If only I could describe my photos like that :)
Have a great day, Galen, and thank you very much for your comment and for making me laugh as usually! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94