“Great things are done when men and mountains meet.” - Part I

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Rila Monastery


P1260875.jpg

Rila Monastery or The Monastery of Saint Ivan of Rila is the most famous and the largest Eastern Ortodox monastery in Bulgaria. It is located in the low parts of southwest Rila Mountains, in the boundaries of Rila National Park at an elevation of 1,147m (3, 763 ft). It carries the name of his founder - St Ivan Rilski. Actually he was living in a cave close to the site of the monastery and his students founded it in the 10 century. Today there live around 60 monks.

Saint John of Rila (Bulgarian: Свети Йоан (Иван) Рилски, sveti Ioan Rilski) (876 – c. 946) was the first Bulgarian hermit. He was revered as a saint while he was still alive. The legend surrounding him tells of wild animals that freely came up to him and birds that landed in his hands. His followers founded many churches in his honor, including the famous Rila Monastery. One of these churches, "St Ivan Rilski" was only discovered in 2008 in the town of Veliko Tarnovo. Today, he is honored as the patron saint of the Bulgarians and as one of the most important saints in the Bulgarian Orthodox Church. Source - Wikipedia



For me it is on the other side of the mountain because I live closer to its north part and I've hiked mostly around that part because it is more convenient for me. One of the hikes that I really wanted to do this summer was either from my part to Rila Monastery and back or the opposite way. The problem was that it is really long and not suitable for 1 day hike for me even thought I am fast it is almost impossible unless you are a mountain runner. The better choice is to do it with one night in the mountain and only in one direction, at least for the knees. But to carry camping equipment around the mountain is also not easy at all. Actually I get lower back pain if I carry even not so heavy backpack. That's why instead of stopping hiking I stopped carrying backpack, shoes and poles. (and my lower back problems disappeared of course).

Two months ago I was chatting with a friend of mine and he told me that he was for the first time near a little chapel on a hill in our part of the mountain with amazing view of some high peaks. That little chapel has really interesting story and it is also called St. Ivan Rilski because when people were transferring his remains from the city Veliko Turnovo back to The Rila Monastery they passed by that hill in Rila and after that a big church was built there, later demolished. I'll write more about its story in the next part. My friend is not that religious but more I would call it spiritual. He wanted to go to The Rila Monastery, take an icon from there and bring it to the other side of the mountain and leave it in the chapel - like if Ivan Rilski is crossing the mountain again.Of course I was happy to go on the long hike with him.

So our first step was the monastery a Saturday morning three weeks ago.

Capture.JPG

We looked around the monastery, took some photos, ate some
мекици (they were so delicious) and were ready to start our long way back home. And of course we took an icon of St Ivan Rilski from the monastery.

P1260869.jpg

The main church of the monastery was erected in the middle of the 19th century.




P1260871.jpg

P1260876.jpg

P1260878.jpg

P1260885.jpg

**

The tower on the left is the oldest building in the complex now - built in 1334



P1260886.jpg

The tower of Hrelja



Hrelja also known as Stefan Dragovolor was a 14th-century semi-independent feudal lord in the region of northeastern Macedonia and the Rila mountains who served medieval Serbian kings Stefan Milutin, Stefan Dečanski and Stefan Dušan. He is known for reconstructing the Rila Monastery, Bulgaria's largest monastery, in 1334–1335. Source - Wikipedia

P1260888.jpg

DSCN9372.jpg

DSCN9375.JPG

DSCN9388 (2).jpg

Postcards with the monastery



DSCN9397.jpg

P1260895.jpg

The monastery from the start of our pathway - The Long Ridge



13.JPG

Here you can see our trip from Samokov to the Monastrery, our trek and the chapel



The Longe Ridge

The first part of our hike was a pathway called The Long Ridge. And why it is called like that? Because it is long and long and long and steep and monotonous and exhausting. Not that this was something new for us . That is what I was thinking. After the first 30 minutes my face was bloody red, my back was wet(I was with a backpack too, because I had to) and I was more ready to come back than to continue but I knew that feeling very well, it was supposed to continue for 1 more hour and then to disappear. Once I am deeper in the mountain, the mountain gives me strength and endurance. Again - at least I thought so :D That was just not my day that time, or the long ridge was really too long. It was endless.

P1260917.jpg

I usually don't eat the food that I carry in my backpack before the end of the hike, because I am not hungry while I am walking. But that time there were at first hazelnuts and plums near the pathway and later big and sweet blueberries, so most of the time I was chewing something really delicious. They were not only feeding me and giving me energy, but also distracting me from the tiredness. Some insects and animals were doing the same: like this guy.

P1260944.jpg

P1260947 (2).jpg

And of course the beautiful mountains and flowers were helping too.

P1260899.jpg

First view point near The Long Ridge - the valley of Rilska river where the monastery is located



P1260908.jpg

And me near the first view point



P1260926.jpg

P1260930.jpg

P1260932.jpg

A very zoomed photo of the monastery from The Long Ridge. Half of the way is done



P1260936.jpg

The icon of St. Ivan Rilski and The Long Ridge



P1260939.jpg

P1260950 (2).jpg

P1260959.jpg

The monastery from almost the end of the endless long ridge



Our final destination for the day was Dodov Peak - 2,661m (8,730 ft).
We started from 1,147m which means we had to go 1,500m higher for a little more than 4 hours.
More about our next steps in my next posts.




Thank you very much for hiking with me :)









Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=danielapetk
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=great-things-are-done-when-men-and-mountains-meet-part-i


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_3 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

I agreed with you 100% with the title

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in our daily Travel Digest. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

OMG!!!!! I can't believe I forgot to tell you:


Hi @danielapetk! I loved your post and how you showed all these pictures and how you explained the trip. I loved how you mentioned the trip's spiritual meaning, well... I loved it overall, to the point that:

You got SNEKKED! ;)

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our 34th curation compilation if you don't mind!

Also, feel welcome to join our community on Discord! -:

https://discord.gg/VWJxTEz


Honestly, I should have told you before the vote itself and before the compilation was made, with too much work it's hard to keep tabs on everything, sorry :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66