You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wild Food: Mushroom Hunting - Yellow Foot and Black Trumpet

in #walkwithme7 years ago

What luck you had! As always, I love your photos. So clear and great attention to detail. With 4 little ones, mushroom hunting is one thing I really want to have a good handle on before we even go looking. I have one wild one that still likes to put everything in his mouth, so he will have to be strapped on my back for that adventure! We have about 10 acres of forest and half of it is marshland half the year. Would that be a good place to look, or perhaps too soggy?

Sort:  

What a fun way to introduce wild foods to your kids.. how great that they get to have all these experiences in nature with you :) Yeah definitely a good idea to know for sure a mushroom is edible before feeding it to them :) Maybe there are mushroom foragers in your area that do workshops or mushroom walks? I find having a friend helping me identify mushrooms is easier than reading in a book. But there's always more to learn. As far as the marshland I don't really know the answer to that question to be honest. I have not spent a lot of time around marshes. My guess is that if there are dead trees in the marsh there might be mushrooms growing on them even if it is too wet below... but I am not really sure! I would just explore and find out whats growing there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49