Walk with me to Australia.

in #walkwithme7 years ago

Walk with me on my first trip to Australia, in fact, my first trip ever out of my beloved country South Africa.
My daughter and her husband spoilt us with this trip to Melbourne, Australia where they now live, we could not wait to see them and especially our two little granddaughters, Mila and Eva .
I would like to share with Steemians, my experiences as a first time traveller overseas.
With passports and Visa applications behind us, the day arrived for us to leave Durban.
On arrival at King Shaka Zulu Airport, I felt the excitement change to panic mode in first gear. I had no idea what to do, although we have flown to Cape Town on many occasions, but never international flights.

My eldest daughter guided Peter and I to the relevant counters, only to find that we were about 8 hours ahead of time and could only book our luggage in later.
‘Well’ I said justifiably, ‘Better early than miss the flight’ pulling all the luggage behind us we headed towards the restaurants to pass the time, which never seem to arrive.

After our eldest daughter left, I suddenly felt so small and vulnerable, like a little child whose parents had just left them at school for the first time. I clutched Peter’s hand tightly then walked towards the boarding lounge after booking our luggage in for our trip to Melbourne .
My worst nightmare was to get on the wrong flight or miss it. Peter was way too relaxed for my liking which added to my irritation! He seemed to enjoy the excitement, it was just another challenge through life’s journey for him. All I wanted was to get on that plane and try to relax with a glass of red wine!
On arrival at our first stopover in Sydney, Peter needed the bathroom before boarding the domestic flight to Melbourne. I walked with him to the gents restroom, ‘You can’t come in with me’ he told me amusingly. ‘Just hurry up’ I told him impatiently. I reached for my cell phone realising it was useless,and only then did it dawn on me that we were actually in another country.
I felt a sigh of relief when we landed in Melbourne, tears of joy flowed down my cheeks seeing Candice and the two girls waiting to greet us up at arrivals.
The next day we began our tour of Melbourne Australia. What an awesome experience I will never forget. We just loved Melbourne.

melbourne city1_resized.jpg<Office building Melbourne City center

abo 4_resized_resized.jpg
Melbourne City center

Graffitti on building walls in City center.jpg
Graffitti on the walls of City center buildings

graffitti2_resized-816x612.jpg
town hall_resized-816x612.jpg
Quaint little Italian Cafe in a lane deep in the City

musician on the street_resized-816x612.jpg
Musicians on street

lake-816x612.png
Lake in the City

art 7_resized-816x612.jpg

Sculptures in Melbourne Art Gallery

art museum 2_resized-816x612(1).jpg
Oil painting in Gallery

art4_resized-816x612.jpg
Oil painting

DSCN1476art museum_resized-816x612.jpg
Oil painting

art park selfie-816x612.jpg
Selfie zone at the Sculpture Park in Melbourne

art park_resized-816x612.jpg
Sculpture at the Park

art park2-816x612.jpg
Sculpture in Park

I just loved the Aboriginee Sanctuary. It was founded and funded by William Rickett.The art work is incredible
abo14_resized.jpg
William Rickett

abo5.JPG
In the Sanctuary

abo 10.JPG
The Sanctuary

abo park.JPG
In the Santuary

abori park.JPG,
In Santuary

abo11.JPG
Bearded man in Sanctuary

bells beach 2.JPG
Bells Beach along the coast of Australia

Australia has beautiful beaches, well kept and safe .
point 2.JPG
Went for a drive to Point Leo, beautiful beach.

market_resized.jpg
The Market in Beaumaris

melbournelibrary_resized.jpg
Mrs Pig at the Beaumaris Library

sundown melbourne_resized.jpg
Sun set in Melbourne

Thank you to @lyndsaybowes for her awesome #walkwithme

Original content by @artywink

Please upvote, comment and resteem if you enjoyed reading my post

All photos property of @artywink

Sort:  

This was an exciting adventure for you, the first time out of South Africa! Well done! The walk with me was really enjoyable. Love the artwork, beaches, the market and Mrs. Pig!

Thanks @cecicastor , yes it was exciting . I would love to travel some more . explore the world.

Thank you for taking us to Australia! That was quite the tour, the sanctuary looked very intriguing...

I am glad you liked it @lindsaybowes.thankyou so much. The Sanctuary was one of my favourites. The beaches are exquisite.

Lovely photography shares on your travel in Australia @artywink

#teamsouthafrica
https://discord.gg/9KVccPH Come Connect.

This is the country of my birth,but I now live in Europe. I hope you enjoy it and have enough time to see all the varied landscapes!

I saw a great deal. just wish I could show all the photos though. I will definitely go back again. My daughter has moved to Brisbane. I really love Australia.thankyou@bengy for your comment much appreciated.

Brisbane is much warmer than Melbourne! My brother lives in Torquay outside of Melbourne. We were there over the Christmas holidays. It was pretty cold there, apart from a single scorcher of a day. The rest of my family (and wife's family) live in Perth, Sydney and Canberra. So, when we visit, it does become a huge expedition!

I just can't wait to see the rest of Australia, the climate is similar to South Africa's climate. Melbourne reminds me of Cape Town in South Africa, the weather is the same.

Awesome walk Down Under @artywink, especially enjoyed the artwork, thank you for sharing this :)

Thank you so much@lizelle, I loved Australia, I think i have caught the travelling bug.

Wonderful pics! Brings back memories lived there for a few months. Didn't explore my as my girlfriend at the time was a bit dull haha. Seriously wouldn't explore at all! 💯🐒

Thanks so much@vibeof100monkeys , sorry about the dull girlfriend though , loved Australia.

Haha she had her good point too ;). Was seven odd years ago now. I have brothers out that way sop will visit again soon :) 💯🐒

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 2.29% vote... I was summoned by @lizelle! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57