Walk With Me - A Newly Found Trail

in #walkwithme7 years ago

It's always exciting to explore a new forest and last weekend was no exception. On what was, probably the last summerlike day of the year, we went for a walk at a little-used interpretive hiking trail very close to home.

image.jpeg

The trail was well maintained with plenty of trail markers and benches to rest on. Surprisingly, it has no name or signs to direct you to the location. We came upon it by chance.

image.jpeg

As usual, one of our party took the lead following the mossy path, but kept checking to make sure we weren't too far behind.

image.jpeg

I was surprised to see so many fresh green ferns so late in the fall.

image.jpeg

We spotted plenty of chaga mushroom attached to the old yellow birches.

image.jpeg

We do not harvest the chaga we find on our walks as we obtain ours from a managed wood lot from trees destined to be sold as firewood.

image.jpeg

Who can resist a wooden bridge crossing a running stream?

image.jpeg

Thanks for joining us on our walk today, and thanks to @lyndsaybowes for starting #walk with me

image.jpeg

Sort:  

Nice walk in the woods. Where are you in Canada? Doesn't look like you have any snow yet.

Thanks! I'm on the Fundy side of Nova Scotia. Our winters are usually mild here on the shore, but we get our share of snow too, usually after Christmas.

Looks like a beautiful trail to find, with a lot of green left. We had a really warm day up here too, I know what you mean, we won't get many more of those <3 <3 Thanks so much for taking us along!

My pleasure! Yes, I love walking on thick mossy trails surrounded by big old trees! I'm looking forward to exploring this place in other seasons too. (just not during black fly season!)

That's two words that just made me happy it's cold, black fly!!

They are, by far, the most despicable creatures I've ever encountered...and I am highly allergic to them 😖

Oooh dear...what happens when they bite you?

I get a tennis ball sized red hot lump, then intense itching for 4 or 5 days. I have it under control by taking antihistimines every day during blackfly season...which I really don't like to do, but it beats staying indoors for half the summer!

OOoh my, that sounds just terrible!!

It would be..if not for the 'wonder drug'!

Lovely walk in the woods, thanks for sharing your part of the world, wow bears roam here as well!! That's scary, here in South Africa we don't have any dangerous creatures roaming in the wild, they're all in the game parks/ reserves! Lovely photos @anise :)

Thanks! I haven't seen a bear up close but they do live in Nova Scotia...just black bears, which are generally afraid of people. I always envisioned Africa as teeming with dangerous animals but I know it is a very big continent with many environments. Thanks for commenting. 😀

Anise! I was so ready to move there, no snow! But then I read it was last summer 😁

Lovely walk I bet? ❤️

It was 3 days ago...a warm day. like summer! We have snow, but usually not as much as Ontario. We are in zone 6b...one of the milder regions in Canada. The year we moved here, 2014, the snow was chest high! Nothing like that since though. Always love walking in the woods....no bears yet!

Wow 3 days ago! Lucky lucky lucky!

Do you carry bear spray or bear horn?

Once awhile they go to town due to garbage bins overflow, scary, but so far no encounter yet, thank goodness

Each time we go walking in the woods I say...we were supposed to get an air horn! So far we have not needed one! (fingers crossed)

nice post bro ............i just upvote you & you back upvote my post ....please

Thanks!

Congratulations @anise! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56716.01
ETH 2322.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38