You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Colmar - a real life fairytale

in #walkwithme5 years ago

There is an 'Alsace' Township near were I live, but not resembling anything like in your photographs unfortunately. Our once large Dutch/German population here is probably how the area got it's name...The French influence here is/was relatively small.

Sort:  

I've never been to the US so I cannot judge but I wouldn't expect anything like this there, simply because the country is too young. And when the europeans came there I don't think they wanted to build on their own culture. They wanted to create something new. At least this is how I see it and I might be completely wrong :)

Where exactly do you live now? If you don't mind sharing of course :)

The older structures built here in the U.S. are largely of mixed architectural persuasion in my opinion, and copied from mostly European sources. More modern buildings seem to include a personal touch by it's designer.

As to where my actual abode is, I try to be less open about such things on social media sites for obvious reasons.

I hope all is well with you my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70