Walk With Me and a Recipe

in #walkwithme7 years ago

Walk With Me...

I made it out for a short walk yesterday with my two sweet boys. We took a stroll to our dear friend @lyndsaybowes' house for a visit and to pick up some eggs that she so generously offered.

The walk there was very icy but we managed it without falling on our butts!

20180121_134305.jpg
very icy driveway...

20180121_134710.jpg
Dor thinks walking in the ditch is safer than on the road

When we got there we had tea and I got to listen to Lyndsays newest version of her amazing song Stop Killing Our Friends. It's really evolving and I can't wait until everyone gets to hear the finished version and see the video. Such an important message and such passion going into this project!

20180122_132612.jpg
eggies yay!

I stayed for a cup of tea and some good conversation with Lyndsay and @hendrix22, it's nice to have people around that you can talk to off and on steemit. Had to head back home before too long though, the wood box needed filling and I wanted to put those eggs to good use too!

20180121_151327.jpg
home again home again...

Recipe...

I managed to whip up a double batch of my favorite coconut flour banana bread and get it in the oven before my husband was ready to bring in the firewood. This is a recipe I have adapted from many online searches and tweaked to make it my own. It is high protien, high fibre, not too sweet, and very moist. I'm more than comfortable feeding it to my kids, though I end up eating most of it myself!

Coconut Flour Banana Bread, with Chocolate Chips or Wild Blueberries

Ingredients

  • 4 cups mashed banana
  • 10 whole eggs
  • 1/4 cup oil (I used olive)
  • 1.5 cups coconut flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • .5 tsp allspice
  • .5 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • up to .5 cup add-ins per loaf, I used half a cup of frozen wild blueberries and a quarter cup of chocolate chips. Walnuts are yummy in here, and frozen raspberries are my absolute favorite addition but I was out.

Method

  • Mash and mix the wet ingredients
  • Mix in the dry ingredients
  • Put into pans and gently swirl/fold in the add ins
  • Bake at 350° for 45 minutes or until a knife inserted comes out clean!

In pictures...

PicsArt_01-22-12.20.10.jpg
start with frozen or fresh very ripe bananas, give 'em a whirr in the food processor or mash them by hand

20180121_164047.jpg
add those beautiful fresh eggs! Give them a whirr too

PicsArt_01-22-12.21.29.jpg
banana egg in a mixing bowl / add your spices, flour, and oil / stir it into a nice dough

PicsArt_01-22-12.22.15.jpg
spoon into pans and add your fixings, chocolate chip topped with butter and sugar in one pan, and wild blueberry in another

20180121_170020.jpg
in the oven you go...

And downstairs to fill the woodbox I go.
It takes us 45 minutes, I stack while he makes
trips with the wheelbarrow. Team work!!

PicsArt_01-22-12.51.10.jpg
yummy treat after a necessary chore :)

I hope you enjoyed the walk and the recipe, give it a try and let me know how it turns out!

Much love,
@amymya

amy.jpg
banner by @soulturtle

Sort:  

Nice! This looks great and doesn't seem too harmful for one's diet!

Plus, love the snowy photos....can't get tired of those as there is no snow in Portugal.

Cheers Amy!

I'm glad you can appreciate the snow, it gets tiresome to me because I can't wait to get back in my garden.
And yes, I consider this a very nutritious food, I ate it all day :)
Take care "Max" :)

This post gets the #healthy-home seal of approval!!

And made me hungry! I think we have some of those frozen ripe bananas!!! Will give it a try!!


Healthy-home is a curation account of @em3
If you have written a really excellent post about:

  • strong families ...or
  • gardening or food harvest ...or
  • homesteading
    Then please use the #healthy-home tag for a healthy upvote!

This is manual curation, so nothing is guaranteed!

Also, please consider SUPPORTING the account with SP delegations, upvotes or straight donations! Thank you!!!

Thanks @em! Make it! It's good! Haha :)

I saved the link to this post, definitely trying that bread

What an adventure. I guess it was fun. Nice sharing ur experience

It was fun! Always love walking with my fearless 8 year old :)

I love eating Egg, I eat Eggs at regular 3/4. I liked your recipe very much.

Yeah I eat eggs on the daily! Perfect protien and full of vitamins and minerals. A simple superfood :)

What a great walk! Sunshine, visiting with friends and delicious bread to round out the day!

It was a lovely day to get out there! And yes, very delicious :)

Thats my favorite place to get eggs too and I love that recipe you have there. Yummy

Holycow! that are A LOT of eggs! hope you guys enjoyed the walk and the food! (also congrats on your current succes with wining the contest by @suesa )


t.

Thank you! Yeah I eat a lot of eggs :) I have chickens, my neighbor has chickens, and eggs are a perfect food in my opinion.
When cooking with coconut flour you need to use a lot of eggs to get a good texture, otherwise you get dry crumbly yuck.
Thanks for reading :)

looks delicious! beautiful scenery too. That one picture of your son walking down the road... looks like a place I've seen before. Love the feeling of familiarity. i bet it smells so good in the home!

Do you follow @lyndsaybowes? She does daily #walkwithme posts and walks this road a lot :)
It did smell fantastic in here!
Thanks for coming along on my walk :)

I just followed her recently. Found her on the Steemit fb page ^_^ These posts bring me on an adventure. its fun!

Congratulations @amymya! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58666.46
ETH 2281.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46