You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Oslo yulemarket

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

There are two moose heads here, and they are occationally talking with each other. The heads are moving as they are talking, the eyes open and close and the mouth opens and closes.

I really couldn't spot the second moose head and looked carefully through your post.

Don't be afraid to criticize my posts.

I am not...although it's a minor writing mistake but it's actually "occasionally" and not "occationally" in the phrase from above talking about the moose heads.

The market looks nice though and I am still thinking about that man's job of cleaning the roof of snow with a brush... I am thinking to pay my father a visit in Austria next week and he tells me that they have there also some type of this market and that's really nice. Will take some pics if it's really that way.

Something similar with the one in Oslo I saw in Stuttgart a few years ago and I liked it a lot. I don't like that nowadays municipalities decorate the cities to early in my opinion. From December 1st is everything already prepared. I would wait till close to Christmas to do that to not spoil the vibe. I also think that Europeans have copied this rush from Americans.

Sort:  

A little bit above and to the right of the center at the photo right below the text.
A bit hidden by the smoke from the fire.

I also think that Europeans have copied this rush from Americans.

Too much is being copied from there, I think the commerce is the most important reason ... companies pushing US traditions to increase sales. Haloween didn't use to be a Norwegian thing, now it's pretty big ... I've come to accept it, but then it's Black Friday, that has become a huge thing over only some few years now. I suppose thanksgiving is the next thing to be imported ...

But starting the Christmas push in November, that can be pretty well explained just through commercial pressure. The average European spend quite a lot of money on gifts, and the first shop to successfully nudge someone into buying the "right" present wins, hence it's always a race to be the first to remind people that the yule time is coming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54478.01
ETH 2290.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35