You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 08/07/18> Here we go in the “Time Machine” … destination 1948.

in #wakeupamerica6 years ago

1948 was a bit before my time. Not a long ways, but before to be certain. So anything I say about Smith-Mundt would be what I've read. Which in some areas is significant.

I believe Smith-Mundt was 'codified' because of events and happenings in WWII. We (and our enemies) discovered that public opinion counted in the prosecution of the war. From the mindless bombing of London to the systematic destruction of Dresden the civillian mood and terror affected the way a government could respond.

We (the allies) set up an entire fake invasion (led by Patton) of Germany in 1944 that was brilliantly successful. Forward troops had recordings and huge speakers that broadcast false movements through out Europe. Several of these were so successful that the powers that be noticed and continued the practice of deception after the war.

I remember well in 1957 when Sputnik was launched. The American people were shocked and amazed that the backward Communist asshats in Russia could use a ballistic missle to send an object into space that could cross our borders every 90 minutes and theoretically spy on us at will. I stood in a parking lot of a closed Piggly Wiggly store in Portland Oregon for 3 full revolutions with my father and his uncle. I do not remember the discussion at all, but I do remember the concern. And just the fact that those 'early to bed-early to rise' farmers stood there drinking coffee until 0200 made a mark on me that never left. It was so completely out of character that my 6 year old mind can recall the night clearly.

So. The spin machine was no where near as good then as it is now, but it churned into high gear and blanketed the US with 'don't worry, be happy' news. Chet and David and Walter were a part of that team, as certainly as I'm sitting here typing this right now.

So here I've written a post sized reply and not even come close to the original question. Just an side story to confirm what you said. I trust you will bring this topic up again so I can take another swing at it.

Thanks. Just thanks.

Sort:  

Your story and your trust is well placed, as I will bring it up again I am sure. It seems that in order to get thru to people in this day and age you really have to keep the message in front of them and keep repeating it.
But that is something that I have to watch so I don't become just a one topic person, I like variety and I am sure others do as well.
Based on the math I put you as 5 years senior of my age, so we basically grew up in the same "age", I don't have any recollection of that event since I would have been still nursing back then, but I have several memories of early sixties and the race to space as it were.
The three you mentioned were definitely on our television set with the evening "news" just like you described.
Thanks for the read, comment and support and you will certainly get another swing in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14