Wakeskate Wednesdays - Pull a sicky and go shred as the Sun is out!

in #wakeboarding6 years ago

vlcsnap-2018-10-25-09h22m12s825.png

This may be the last bit of nice weather we get, so there's no way I'm sitting in an office today.

Video at bottom of post.

I have a 9 till 5 (ish) office job, and I save my sick days for when the Sun is shining. We are approaching the end of October fast, and it's starting to get proper cold. The wake park closes next week, so it made perfect sense to get one last shred session in, but this time I took the Wake Skate instead of my Wakeboard.

What is Wakeskating?

Simply put, it's like being towed along the water on a skateboard without wheels.

Anyone with a skateboarding background (like myself) is going take to this pretty well.

You are not strapped to the board with bindings like you are with a wakeboard, so you are free to move your feet about so you can perform tricks like you would skateboarding.

Wakeskaters tend to wear skate shoes for extra grip and protection. I just bought the cheapest pair of Globe trainers in TK Max and I use them just for Wakeskating. I got a size too big as well, which allows me to use neoprene wetsuit socks with the trainers to keep my tootsies warm in the winter.

In the little 1 min clip I made below for Instagram, you'll see I use two different boards, one without grip tape and one with.

The one without grip tape is a board I bought of a pro wakeskater about 10 years ago, so it's dated. I still have it as I don't wakeskate that often so can't justify a newer board. It's also good for just messing around on without shoes as it has a foam base.

The Danny Hampson pro board with grip tape is a mates board, I was trying it out, it has loads of pop and it super grippy. Wakeskates have definitely come along way since when I first tried it.

Unlike wakeboarding, wakeskating hurts a lot less when you fall as you are not anchored to the board, so it's super chill, which is what Wednesday was all about.

Don't be fooled though, it can still hurt, I have seen a guy perforate his ear drum missing a pop shuv-it and hitting the water hard. Also as the board is not strapped to you, like wakesurfing, the board can pop up and smash you in the mouth, which will ruin your day a bit.

Anyway enjoy my silly little 1 minute Instagram edit below:

This cable wake park has a bunch of different obstacles to hit, not all of them are wakeskate friendly, but there are a couple of little rails and dance floor boxes to hit. I didn't fancy hitting the kickers today as it was fucking fresh and couldn't be arsed with crashing and having a long walk back. Good excuse though right? :-p

#wakeskating #wakeskate #newforest #newforestwakepark #wakeboard #wakeboarding #summer #adventure #sports #lake #liquidleisure #wakepark #unit #wakeboarder #liquidwakepark #summereveryday #everydayissummer #summerlovin #surf #surfing #hyperlite #surfattack #loose #froth #frothing #frothers #chillfactor #chill #buttery #yew #poolgap #slider #sliders #kicker #obstacles #cable #cablepark #cableski #wakepark #wakeskatewednesday #wakeboardingwednesday

Sort:  

That looks like fun, we got our Samoyed on a Paddleboard, but I don't think he would enjoy the wakeskating haha

Says who? Get him on there haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42