The Life of a Waitress

in #waistressing7 years ago (edited)

Many of you probably don't think much of it, when you go out to eat at your favorite restaurant.... you order your meal, the drink, and desert... you spend an evening with your loved ones... and then the bill comes.... and you realize all you have left is 2 dollars... just enough for the tip.

For a waitress that table just became the reason to ruin their entire day... 3d10efd9d6ff765e9e15d71a7cbeebc5.jpg

I have been serving for about 2 years now. I am a manager at my restaurant, and also have the responsibility of training new servers. I am managing 6 out of the 7 days of the week.
From the beginning serving has been a challenge - throughout my years in the business I think I have lost my faith in humanity.

Did you know.......

  • Servers do not get paid a minimum wage - everything is based off of our tips
  • Serving is an extremely difficult task. No we do not just stand around.... when the restaurant is busy we can have up to 7-12 tables at a time. And still keep that smile on our faces :)
  • You have to be extremely good at multi-tasking. Being able to take a drink order at one table, and see that another needs ketchup and a refill on kids chocolate milk, and then be clearing plates at another, and have your food sitting in the window. It is not an easy task... when everyone requires your attention and your service at once.
  • New Employees. New people are awesome, don't get me wrong, but until they get the hang of it...they can really just get in the way during a rush.
  • Never being able to sit down, and constantly being on your feet is very physically demanding.

wpid-cc40c94e037c029285500e2d2870a635.jpeg

Serving is a real job, with many benefits involved... and yet some downfalls as well. I could go on, and on, about the stories from the restaurant business but I will spare you... for now. Thanks for reading!!!

b92ebb76c2654af3b8a61f27c6a0b716.jpg

SOURCES: Serving Quotes found on: google.com/images

poster (1).jpg

Sort:  

Excellent post! I bused and waited tables long ago, so and I understand what you are saying.

Thank you! :)

I always appreciate waiters and waitresses! I know their job isn't an easy one!

Thank you! We always appreciate it! :)

In San Francisco they do get minimum wedge. Not debating, just saying.

I live in Wisconsin, and we do not. However, I do get paid more because I am a manager. Thanks for your opinion! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49