It's wafricamusic time and i'm doing what i love to do (singing)

in #wafricamusic6 years ago (edited)

I appreciate the @nmalove and @wafrica team for giving us this great opportunity to do what we love to do.
When i saw the post, i thought to myself 'what type of music will be good enough?'. Then i got the inspiration to do a song by Onyeka Onwenu or Evi Edna Ogoli. I chose the song 'Ekwe' by Onyeka Onwenu.
I love the artist and i understand the language a bit.

These are the lyrics of the song

Ekweeeeeee, ekwe ooo, ekwe ooo, ekwe ooo, ekwe ooo, ekwe
mnee anya naka nnii nekwa ekwe k'onabia
mnee anya naka ekpe nekwa ekwe k'onabia
Ebe m jelu ekwe ejee, gwanu m ifem geme
Umu uwa gbatanu o gwanu m ifem geme
Ejim gi ugwo (4x) Ekwe
Ekwe mgbadike ekwe (2x)
Ekwe a noolu m onwe m i jelu bia (2x)
Iwee bu akpa ego wee bia
Iwee dokwasi m n'ukwu
Iwee nayo mwee ju
Iwee n'ebe akwa, i n'ebe akwa onye n'eti gi ekwe
Ekwe mgbadike, ekwe
Onye ife m newe iwe ya biko wegbuo ya
Osukosu nwa nkpi ya biko sugbuoya,
Selense

Meaning

If i look to the right, Ekwe is coming after me
If i look to the left Ekwe is coming after me
Everywhere i go, Ekwe goes, tell me what sbould i do?
Everyone, tell me what to do
Am i owing you Ekwe?

What i deduce from the song is that Ekwe is a young man, trying to sweet talk a woman who is not interested in him because Ekwe went to the extent of crying but his tears didn't work.
Thanks to @eugenecr7 my husband who did the coverage, Mr. Philip who played the keyboard, @farida and her younger ones, Princess and Etenzu (co-instrumentalists, Gift and my lovely kids Enyo and Winnie who danced joyfully and sang along. Special thanks to @maryfavour my big supportive sister who encouraged me to join the contest.

Kindly upvote, comment, resteem and follow @trendyevents

Thanks for visiting my blog

Sort:  

This was a very good performance, @trendyevents. You put so much effort into this production. I'll personally reward you all with some cool SBDs. Hopefully, you'll be appropriately rewarded by the organizers of the contest too.

@maryfavour.

I lack words to appreciate you my darling but there is something I ask of the lord.... God will surprise you.

Priceless!
I loved it, showed my Mom too. She was a music teacher most of her life, and my Dad too ;-)

Wooowww, I love to impact knowledge too. Teaching for me, is a very noble profession. I can't do without singing. I love music. Did your mum love the performance? I would love corrections too, if any. Thanks so much for your encouragement.

Maami...... I really heavy your courage and contribution in this contest o..... I pray your effort is rewarded bountifully In Jesus Name ma

Thank you so much my beloved sister.

It is really unfortunate that the terrible network over here will not allow me see the video.
I trust that with the amazing crew you listed over here, the presentation will be an excellent one, wish you the very best mama

Oh dear, don't worry; when you get to a place with better network, you can watch it. Thanks dear.

I just love this one. 😘😘😍😍 that other kid cannot even shake body 😂😂😂
This is so lovely. Nice. Very good work.

Heheheheeee that other kid can dance oo, she was only tired and sleepy. She danced very well earlier on but when we wanted to re-do the video, daddy had to bribe her with sweets to make her participate because she was beginning to cry lolz. Twas so much fun my dear. Thanks so much dear.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54640.80
ETH 2444.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16