My entry to the @wafrica first music contest.

in #wafricamusic6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180513_122517.jpg

Hello Steemians, this is your boy @desmoniac and I made a music video for @wafrica music contest. I am not so good at singing but I gave it my best shot.

I am from Anambra Nigeria, an Igbo boy by birth and i sang a popular song in my dialect (igbo) titled " Gịnị ka m nge ji. Wuoro chịm ụlọ ". In English it means "what will I use in thanking God".

The song was sang by our fore fathers and was known to have been in existence from time immemorial. The song holds a historical background in the Igbo tribe and cannot be left out whenever praises and worship songs are being rendered to God in any Christian gathering.

Unfortunately, I searched and searched for the instrumentals both on and off the Internet, but I couldn't find. So I just had to sing it as natural as possible. I hope you enjoy the song below:

The song lyrics

Gịnị ka m nge ji. Wuoro chịm ụlọ.. X2

Agam eji àjà

Àjà adịghị mma

Agam eji ntụ

Ntụ adịghị mma

Agam eji gbam gbam.. Gbam na ata nchara ewo

Agam eji obimo wuoro chịm ulo

English version of the lyrics

What will I use to build house for my God x2

I will use sand

Sand is not good enough

I will use ashes

Ashes are not good enough

I will use zinc

But Zinc will rust

So I will use my heart in praising my God
[repeat as many times as you wish]

The above song happens to be my favorite native song, a song a sing Unconsciously, whenever I feel overwhelmed by the mercies of God and His kindness towards me.

The song can put you in a very emotional state, a state where you begin to count your blessings and realize how undeserving you were to relieve those blessings and just almost immediately, you also realize that there is nothing you can offer God to repay or reward HIM for HIS faithfulness towards you other than a wholehearted worship to HIM.

tgkcldajk8.jpg

FOLLOW @wafrica and click HERE TO JOIN THE CONTEST

TILL WE MEET AGAIN

Sort:  

@Desmoniac, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin


Sponsored by @ogoowinner

I've always looked for the meaning of this song. A clasic and ever green igbo worship song.

Nice one @desmoniac. Thank you for taking us through that worship.

Agam eji obimo wuoro chịm ulo

Lolz.. You are welcome dear

The voice is manageable sha

Hahahaha.. U no well o

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01