THE DEMERIT OF GIVING FRIENDS TO WORK ON - IMO

in #wafrica6 years ago

image
They say everyday we get to learn new things and slowly I am doing that. People we refer to as friends, are they really what you think they are. I have been picking my observation from different people I refer to as friends and the result is quite disheartening as I get unforseen surprises. It is good you support your friends for what they do as everyone cannot be a steemian. I tried to support my friend also whom I paid to help renovate the new apartment I just rented. I got a list which would be enough to build a single room from the scratch. I just smiled and had to beat everything down. I took the list and went to the market to carry out my own survery, only then I noticed my supposed friend does not wish me well. I was able to get the materials needed for the painting and will have to pay him just for workmanship. I got them at far lower price and save myself dome funds.

I thought all was good cos I had to get the things myself not until yesterday which he promised to come start work by 11a.m and when I got to the house, I tried his number but was switched off and it got to 4p.m before his number went and came with no good or tangible excuse because he knows me. This is when I realise that people take advantage of things because they are close to you and feels they can do as they wish. I only got to find out he took another job and went for that one first before coming for mine and when he came, he was not feeling sorry at all. I was angry at a point cos I felt he took advantage of my simplicity and just had to let it go cos it wasn't worth it.

My rent has already starting counting and I am yet to move in cos someone I called a friend has decided to delay the whole process, here I am still spending money for transport cos I need to go back to my house to sleep.

The essence of the post, Am I the only one who has not been lucky with people I call friends or its a general thing.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by yungchief from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Sorry, about the whole incident man! Such things do happen and we can only learn from it.

In my case I've had a best friend who pretended to be me and took my place of representing my school way back in high school.

We can only learn from such incidents and become stronger.

Take care man! ✌

Posted using Partiko Android

That is really serious.

It's hard getting a good friend these days, you are not alone bro
Just stay strong wishing you the best

I guess I am kinda of unlucky when it comes to having true friends offline who will be sincere to you same way you are to them

When it comes to money bruv trust no one - Once money gets involved you would quickly realize that you have far fewer friends than you think. I learned my lesson the hard way

So true, there are other cases relating to what you should said but I won't talk about it. Its really disheartening

@Yungchief, thank you for using the naijapidgin tag.

We encourage and support minnows.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/5SR8CH4 for more fun and to submit your posts for curation.

You like what we are doing and would like to support us? Join our trail here: https://steemauto.com/dash.php?i=15&id=1&user=naijapidgin

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

I have been picking my observation from different people I refer to as friends and the result is quite disheartening as I get unforseen surprises.
It should be unforeseen instead of unforseen.

Hi @yungchief!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.622 which ranks you at #14245 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 8 places in the last three days (old rank 14237).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 266 contributions, your post is ranked at #159.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82