THE PROBLEM IS NOT "DIVERSITY", IT IS "DISUNITY"

in #wafrica6 years ago

source

The problem of "unity in diversity" has been basic for all philosophers to fathom, argue about and earn scores from; but in reality it is one for all, not just the "learned" to look into.

This "deliberate oxymoron" was too much for me to grasp when i was a kid. Growing up among elders who are philosophers, my "inquisitivity" and quest for "what's real" increased everyday. But on this subject of "unity in diversity", the more i looked, the less i saw.

I'd look around and ask myself " is this for real?" Can there be unity without uniformity? How can a world so diverse and fragmented be united in thought? Can the black ever wine and dine with the white? How can a Muslim form "three jolly friend" with a Christian and Buddhist? So many dissimilar groups are everywhere. There is even a lot of differences in our languages, sizes, statuses, beliefs and ideologies. To add more confusion to my poor little mind back then was the reality that i'm also a product of "diversity".

My mum is from the South South, while my dad is from the Western part of Nigeria. Fifty years of married life and still counting however, they are still friends forever. Some of my siblings understands okunni(one of the many dialects in Calabar), while my mum can conveniently "sing" proverbs in Yoruba ( a language of the Western Nigeria). I have many beautiful Calabar girls who call me "uncle" and it seemed like there is oneness, despite our diverse cultures, beliefs and upbringing.

The ability to understand and tolerate one another will make us accept and manage our differences under any condition. There can not be unity and development in a group that lacks understanding of purpose and tolerance. This is evident in today's scripture readings:

Acts 22:30; 23:6-11
Wishing to determine the truth
about why Paul was being accused by the Jews,
the commander freed him
and ordered the chief priests and the whole Sanhedrin to convene.
Then he brought Paul down and made him stand before them.

Paul was aware that some were Sadducees and some Pharisees,
so he called out before the Sanhedrin,
"My brothers, I am a Pharisee, the son of Pharisees;
I am on trial for hope in the resurrection of the dead."
When he said this,
a dispute broke out between the Pharisees and Sadducees,
and the group became divided.
For the Sadducees say that there is no resurrection
or angels or spirits,
while the Pharisees acknowledge all three.
A great uproar occurred,
and some scribes belonging to the Pharisee party
stood up and sharply argued,
"We find nothing wrong with this man.
Suppose a spirit or an angel has spoken to him?"
The dispute was so serious that the commander,
afraid that Paul would be torn to pieces by them,
ordered his troops to go down and rescue Paul from their midst
and take him into the compound.
The following night the Lord stood by him and said, "Take courage.
For just as you have borne witness to my cause in Jerusalem,
so you must also bear witness in Rome."

Paul was able to defeat the Pharisees and Sadducees because he knew they are never in agreement on the subject of resurrection and they will never be tolerant enough to accommodate themselves at least for the sake of the persecution for which they gathered. Two groups that gathered to witness the unfair execution of a man that speaks for the truth could not themselves accept the truth about their differences in belief and embrace tolerance. They lost the battle even before it started due to arguments.

It wouldn't have been easy for Paul if these "elders" learn to understand the importance of patience and tolerance. They would have escaped Paul's trap if they had remained united in thought and purpose. The problem is not their ethnic differences, but their lack of understanding, tolerance and patience which led to their separation.

Jesus Christ knows the importance of unity among Christians and the entire world. This called for His special prayer: "that they may be one" as seen in John's Gospel:

Jn 17:20-26
Lifting up his eyes to heaven, Jesus prayed saying:
"I pray not only for these,
but also for those who will believe in me through their word,
so that they may all be one,
as you, Father, are in me and I in you,
that they also may be in us,
that the world may believe that you sent me.
And I have given them the glory you gave me,
so that they may be one, as we are one,
I in them and you in me,
that they may be brought to perfection as one,
that the world may know that you sent me,
and that you loved them even as you loved me.
Father, they are your gift to me.
I wish that where I am they also may be with me,
that they may see my glory that you gave me,
because you loved me before the foundation of the world.
Righteous Father, the world also does not know you,
but I know you, and they know that you sent me.
I made known to them your name and I will make it known,
that the love with which you loved me
may be in them and I in them."

Aware of the different background of the disciples, Jesus only prayed for their unity because He knew they could still be separated even if they are equal in status and background. Their ultimate source of togetherness would erupt from believing and speaking with one voice in love and understanding. And so He begged that they are united in purpose and truth as He and the Father are ONE. The disciples were able to reach out to the ends of the earth because they were united in truth, love and purpose.

THERE IS NO DIVERSITY IN TRUTH

source

The life of the early Christians have confirmed the fact that truth is the same everywhere. If we live for the truth, we will be united irrespective of our background and status. But the truth is what we hate to encounter in our daily life. Being what it is, we've decided to run from the truth by all means not minding the separation and divisions it would cost us.

Many religious congregations are springing up out of lies and their inability to live and abide by the truth Jesus himself proclaimed. Some so called "bible believing church" hate this "Gospel of unity" Jesus preached that they do fail to preach it themselves. I wonder where else to learn the truth if its not being preached in the church and other religious grounds. And so the world is now filled with deceptions of different kind all in the name of comfort.

The issue of killings, robbery, bribery, malice and all other social vices is spreading like wild harmattan fire. But due to greed and thirst for social status and positions, even our "men of God" has refused to stand up to the truth that would bring back our oneness.

As it was in the days of Paul, it is also needed now that we stand up for the truth amidst the separations of our world. We are called upon to be the "Paul" of our time so as to stabilize the craze for divisions we are faced with.

We must always stand for and live for the truth in our offices, schools, shops, churches, parties, neighborhood and our nation. We must allow the Spirit of God to flow in and guide our hearts and minds. We must surrender ourselves to His will and quest that "they may be one", and work hard to achieve this by living a truthful life.

We must stand up, stand out and stand tall! We must always be known as a companion and promoter of truth in our locality. This makes us less popular or wealthy, but we shall be at peace with ourselves and the God of truth. It is not easy, but its the best way to help our world get out of this mess of disunity.

May God help us to be witnesses to his truth through peace and understanding and in turn restore unity back to our diverse world, Amen.

Thanks for reading!

I'm @tomfreeman!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77