MY SPECIAL MOMENTS (Part 2) - Life of a Corps Member (2)

in #wafrica6 years ago

With this, I will be concluding my series on MY SPECIAL MOMENTS for now, believing more special moments will still be experienced. I wrote about the first two cardinal points of NYSC in my previous post, so I will continue from there.

(3) Community Development Service (CDS)

The most interesting part of my service year was in my CDS. After camp, corps members are grouped into different CDS groups so that each member will contribute their quota to the development of the community they belong. I was in Culture and Tourism CDS group made up of dance, drama, and band sections.

IMG_20180409_220015_455.jpg

I was privileged to serve as the president of Culture and Tourism CDS, Batch A, 2017/2018 set, Zamfara state. There, I met with different "kinds" of talented individuals with great potentials who are always ready to deliver even when they are not sure of being compensated.
01-102.jpg

According to Law of Use and Disuse, we believe any potential that is not utilized will fizzle out with time. We had performances in camp, schools, workshops,

IMG-20180414-WA0005.jpg

barracks, stadium, police commissioner's house and other places in Zamfara state on different occasions.

01-95.jpg
01-81.jpg
![01-41.jpg](https://steemitimages.com/DQmP1oNDJXupGAKsmP5HXpD2BuSKuP62u9qstu3R8DZrT1B/01-41.jp

For me, our fatherland is worth serving because of my CDS activities.

(4) Passing Out Parade

This is an occasion that rounds off the service year for each stream in any batch. Dignitaries (including the governor of the state) are being invited to grace the occasion. Culture and Tourism members (band section) passing out also perform during the parade.

After the occasion, discharge certificates are being awarded to passing out corps members, which marks the end of their service year.
IMG_20180408_150544-1.jpg
IMG_20180412_135649.jpg

It was indeed an experience serving my fatherland. These special moments I cannot forget easily in my lifetime. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Congratulations @peteradenusi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50