My drawing update - part one

in #wafrica6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180428_182744.jpg

Hello lovelies, hope you're having a great day...... Today, I'll be sharing with you a part of what's been keeping me busy lately.
This is an exhibition piece which I'm currently working on for publication in my school's magazine; I've been on this for about four days now... Hope you don't think I'm lazy, truth is i got stuck up with lots of school work.
Waking up today, i thought i should share with you the progress I've made so far on the work and how i got about it.
Here's my reference from a friend on Instagram @adedotvn
Screenshot_2018-03-17-08-03-47.png

Making this drawing has been so much fun being that it's my first time of trying out a two in one portraiture and also my first time of using a full sized cardboard; though there were challenges such as getting the proportions right and maintaining a good level of paitence, I'm glad that so far I've been able to scale through the hurdles.
The inspiration behind this drawing is the look on the child's face..... looking at her, i saw a some sort of weariness, a considerable level of responsibility and so much pity; so i thought "perhaps i could lend her something close to boldness, maybe change the setting of her face so she'd be strong, stand firm and keep up with the journey ahead"

Talking about the process, I started by making my sketch with a 2b pencil this is to ensure that I avoid unnecessary errors, then i proceeded to making the details on the hair using my usual cross hatching technique; this can be achieved by simply double-crossing your lines; take to heart that it's not just about making the lines, but also paying attention to your tonal gradation; this has to do with areas which should receive the highest level of light and those with a lower concentration of light.
Here's the first progress shot.
IMG_20180412_063954.jpg
For the second stage, i proceeded to shading the face and bringing to light other facial features while looking out for the places with lower concentration of tones...... Looking at the face, you may notice that it's not thoroughly blended; however, I'd decided to work on that much later as part of the final finishing; I would share that in the second part of this series.
Satisfied with the result, I made a go for the neck and a part of the shoulder
IMG_20180426_174855.jpg
That done, i settled for the hands.
I must admit making the hands was a bit challenging as i had to be extra careful with my shades nevertheless, it was worth the pain and i would say that's all for now....
Stay tuned cause I'll be posting the second series of this drawing to explain it's final process. Thanks for reading and please leave your comments, questions and contributions...... They'll be appreciated.

Upvote, resteem, and follow to show your support @joyart

Sort:  

You got a 14.62% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

Thanks so much @ebargains, I can't believe this is real, i will be using your services henceforth

Congratulations @joyart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Wow, I'm impressed! It looks really good so far, I'd love to see the finished product. You're definitely a lot better at drawing than I am. I tried drawing a stick figure and it turned into a man-unicycle hybrid... :)
Great work, hope to see more from you!

Hi friend, you don't have to feel bad just yet; keep practicing relentlessly and soon, i believe you'll be perfect.....
Stay tuned for the next update... Much love

Simply put, yoi are good. Upvote for you

Thanks @javalord.... Yo can check out other posts on my blog, i believe you'd love them

Great work, can't wait to see it finished.

Sure friend, I'd finish sooner than later

Talent on display!. You are really good. @everlove and @alexandravart need to see this. This is really good. You are trying to give life to the pity look. I like this. Well done.

Thanks so much for your encouragement..... I'm grateful

You deserve it dear.

I'm honoured friend😃

you are a very talented artist!! thanks for sharing your content with us!! i esp love that you included some pictures and insight into the process!

I'm glad you find my work worth appreciating...... keep in touch for the finishing, i believe you'd love the outcome.
Thanks a lot for your time.

A clean and beautiful creation process. Congratulations, excellent drawing!

A hug from Venezuela.

I'm most grateful dear... Much love 💜💜

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by joyart from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Amazing ms.. Im a fan of your work indeed.. Forever progress, your work is splindid ! Looking forward to the finished piece!

Sure dear.... I'll be sharing the finished piece anytime sooner; good to know you'd love to share the moment..... Thanks a lot for stopping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68870.08
ETH 3734.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73