[Joy art] on illustrative painting and makeover

in #wafrica6 years ago

Hello dear steemians, i just want to share a bit of my day with you.

image

Today was one of those days when i felt the need to be creative because most times when I find myself being idle, i think it's not just right.
So......when i thought the scorching African sun was going to frustrate my day with heat, i picked up my colours and brushes and got myself ready for some sort of makeover painting.

As is the normal practice with me, i started by getting my reference photo which came from a friend on Facebook.
image
Actually, the idea was to create a makeover painting of the girl in the photo; probably make something more out of it, and definitely make it more artistic to suit my silly taste... Lol
So i thought "perhaps i could introduce some colourful strands to her hair, take off her earings, trim off a part of her scarf, lend her a pair of elongated brows, leave her looking all creepy, and more.
Apologies for not taking the progress shots....I think i got really worked up however, the processes for making this would be explained below.
image

Materials used include: water-based acrylic, painting brushes, pallette, water, 2b pencil and a black ballpoint pen.

I started by making a light sketch with my 2b pencil and then carefully laying my fist shade of colours using the wash technique. During this process i took into consideration the areas with higher concentration of depth so that I'd reduce the intensity of colours i placed on such areas; reason is, to give the work a good level of 3D form.
Once that was done, i proceeded to reapplying my colours and paying particular attention to highlights, tonal gradation and texture. To conclude the procedure, i used my black ballpoint pen to create outlines on areas i thought were necessary since I wanted it to be more of an illustrative painting.
You may be wondering how i achieved the effect on my background; that's simple...... I just made sure i dropped my colour on the desired spot, raised my drawing board and allowed it to drip to any length of my choice.
So yeah.... That's all about the making of my creeping little painting.
image image

Thanks so much for stopping by; hope you enjoyed every bit of this.
Don't forget to support by upvoting, resteeming, following, abd leaving your comments.

Any questions would be highly welcomed.

Sort:  

cool portrait * ___ * the model is so adorable <3 very nice vibrant colours you used for the hair in the portrait :D

upvotes

I'm honoured to have you leave a comment...... That's really encouraging thanks lots.

This is reallly good, @joyart! I love the concept of getting a picture and then making an artistic painting of that. Way cool! Thank you for sharing this with us. Upvoted!

Thanks so much; i always feel a sense of satisfaction anytime my work is appreciated.... Thanks once again for stopping by, I'm grateful

Oooh! I see why @olawalium likes you 😊
@joyart you have got skills, this is really beautiful. Please keep it up.

Thanks so much dear, It's good to have you stop by☺...... Looking forward to seeing more of you in the future

She is really talented. I am impressed.

this is really extraordinary. like lt.

Thanks, I'm honoured

Great work! She is so adorable;)

Wow! I love it that you left a comment..... Thanks a lot; I'm honoured

Increíble tu foto artística me gusto muchísimo te felicito Dios bendiga las obras de tus manos éxitos.

Incredible your artistic photo I liked a lot I congratulate you God bless the works of your successful hands.

Thanks so much for your amiable support.... ☺☺ I'm looking forward to more encouragement from you in the future; I'm glad you stopped by

Oh my goodness!. Wow!. This is impressive. I am blown away by this. Perfect. You are really talented. Well done my new friend.

Thanks a great deal for stopping by; I'm most grateful

Anytime. Keep steeming.

I love it ! YOU amaze me :)

Thanks so much..... I'm thrilled

wow, cool, I love arts, I love artisans, you are cute and you are impressive! great work dear, keep soaring! I I were in your country, I'd look for you!

Thanks a great deal @ehmkannde...... Your words are so encouraging; just gave you a follow, hope we'll keep in touch

Sure, we shall be in contact definitely!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58866.42
ETH 2515.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46