Remembering the jero i wanted to be but would never be

in #wafrica6 years ago

imagesourcejembe-player-picture-id172417187.jpg

Years ago in kawo village, kaduna state Nigeria, lived a young drummer. I don't know his full name but we all called him JERO. I heard he's long travelled to the island of no return, truly, not to me, he eternally lives in my thoughts. Each time a hand goes against a leather, his name pops up in my thoughts. This post is dedicated to him.

He was like any other person who was born in a rural area - he had to endure a rustic life and all that it brings. He lived in the best of times and when the time was the worst. He witnessed the days of war and the times of peace. He saw as my age came into the world and grew amidst them. There are many good things I remember him for, for he was such a good man. Not to make out as if i intend to beatify an area boy, i admit, he wasn't all that good. He had his flaws like any other human whose sinews garment the crimson stuff that tirelessly runs within. To me, he was a hell of a good person. A hero.

He's the happiest when he is conversing with his samba drum and flute. The drums are rolled at even times to celebrate the day's hard work. At the centre of it all, there he thrives. He will play out his best to keep us happy, make us dance and happily guide us to our beds as a mother lulls her baby to a good night's rest.
I was amazed that such a poor band of friends are contented with making people happy at no cost. Our happiness seems to be their only satisfaction.
JERO, you should be living in this age. An age eroded by greed and selfishness. Sacrifice is not being regarded as a virtue any longer. 'I alone' is the new philosophy. Like Jesus, shame the grave against all odds and come back to us. We need you to teach us how to make others happy, even before ourselves.
I miss you and hope to be Like you, but the age we are in does not support that. Thanks for quietly teaching me that it does not take much to make a neighbour happy.
If perchance you can hear or have knowledge of this post, take this from me continue to play to the glory of your maker. I love you. I wish to be Like you but I guess I can never play drums like you did. Be assured that I will strive to make people happy like you did with your drums and your poor band.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59