Done with this

in #wafrica6 years ago

sddefault.jpg
3 days.
That's how long it was since any of us have had any sleep.
It's been three days since any of us was sure that they'll live to see the next minute.
It's been three days since the last time we weren't getting shot at.
It's been three days since I started regretting this God-forsaken war.
In the past three days I have been shot at, stabbed and bombed by an enemy I didn't make.
In the past three days I have seen a friend get shot in the head so close to me that the blood went in my mouth. And I have seen a friend get blown up because he was too tired to throw the grenade properly. And I've seen a friend shoot herself I'm the head because, in her words, she was 'done with this shit'.
Well as of five seconds ago I as well am'done with this shit'.
As I race away from the battle field. I can hear commanders scream at me to 'get back to your position, soldier'.
At the academy we were told 'a soldier is brave and fearless' well I haven't been brave and fearless in at least two days. I haven't even been brave enough to kill myself.
'Shoot him' I heard the captain's voice say. I knew this would happen. They execute deserters and cowards. That's what we do.
I don't want to die but I don't want to live in this war anymore.
Next thing I know I'm falling flat on my face and clutching the bullet wound in my back. I didn't even hear the shot that hit me over the thousands that were fired every second.
Over me stood a soldier dressed in the same uniform as me poised to put the final bullet I'm me. And he did but before my eyes shut and my soul was gone, I lived long enough to see his head shot off as his brains scattered all over my immobile body and face.
In the past three days I have had the blood and brains of two 'brothers I'm arms' in my mouth.
I'm done with this shit.

Sort:  

Eeyaaa....
The pitiful veil of the battlefield.
Blood, sweat and bullets. It's not fuckin easy.

Nice one @ace97

Truly no one wishes for war as the end always is pain.

Nice piece.........
It takes courage and bravery to man up.
The end is like a double edged sword

This post deserved far better than it received. Very evocative, puts you right in the shoes of the doomed soldiers, surrounded by mud and blood and bullets and madness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59036.72
ETH 2970.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73