Cinco de Mayo

in #waafrica5 years ago

Today is not even Cinco de Mayo (Fifth May). It is Primero de Mayo (First May). Anyway, I just love how Cinco de Mayo sounds like an exotic and delicious Mexican delicacy. At least that's what I thought the first time I heard someone talking about it from my usual eavesdropping escapades. By the way, this is one of the best ways I have been able to learn lots of Spanish. You see, we (human beings) love gossip. A whole lot. It is the human nature and it is totally fine. I always find myself following random stories especially when in a bus from work or wherever. The other day on my way home I sat behind this couple who seemed totally drunk in love. Caressing, crossed legs and all that kind of a thing. I guess they got married not so long ago and I bet they were reminiscing about their honeymoon or something like that. Guys, I can tell you how qeu bonita their wedding was, what the bride loved the most and how their mothers cannot stand one another. That's the power of the love for gossip and eavesdropping even in a foreign language.

So today is 1st May, international labour day. You'd be surprised as I was, or may be not, that in the United States, Puerto Rico, the Canal Zone, and the Virgin Islands, that labour day is on 2nd September and not 1st May. Anyway why does it even matter. Well, here is why it matters. This being an international holiday here in Mexico, the land of honey and milk (Read that as the land of tacos and Guacamole), means that there is no school! Which also means, I get to spend a whole day just by myself trying to figure out what I am doing with my life for the 5468721th time. I have been down this road for, as you can read, 5468721 times and I know how it ends. Not very well. So I decide to call my cousin in Lebanon to catch up and most importantly to distract myself. And then telepathy happens. She was planning to call me as well since she wasn't working today. Is telepathy a thing even? Also, when someone says they were planning to call you when you suddenly call them after centuries, do they mean it? Because I usually don't.

My cousin and I have been over the phone for 7.45.56 hours. She is 10 years older than me. She is married with three big boys. I am not. We talked about many things. How different Lebanon is from Mexico, how her family is, how our big family is, family dramas (Don't be deceived, all families have dramas, which again is very okay and adds flavor to life) and marriage. Yes marriage. "I have been married to my husband for 14 years now, I was married at 21. The honeymoon phase was all hugs and kisses, we've been through ups and downs. Some ups were really high and other lows were super low. We have fallen out of love and things are not the same anymore." The next statement I was expecting was that... "and finally we called it quits!" But this is what she said, "Nevertheless, if I died and came back today, I would still choose him" Then me..."But you are not in love anymore???!!" And this is what she said, "I might not look at him as I did 14 years ago, I have learnt his weaknesses and his strongholds, I can tolerate him, he tolerates me, he is as humble as your dad (my dad is the most humble guy we know) and all that said, he is my BEST FRIEND" That was profound. BFF, WHERE ARE YOU? ARE YOU AS HUMBLE AS MY DAD? ARE YOU STUCK SOMEWHERE? DO YOU NEED HELP? I am tired of waiting. Haha.

Well, it was a good day and I should be shutting down my computer. This was going to be a long blog post about my 2 weeks adventure over the holidays in the 5th largest city in the world, Distrito Federal de Mexico. However, I have to pack my quinoa and vegetable for lunch tomorrow, Read a few pages of my current read— Homesick by Eshkol Nevo, which even at page 37 I still do not know who the persona is, and do 20 plunges for the day.

Until next time, Adios! ♥♥

Sort:  

Congratulations @polyn2057! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67095.54
ETH 3462.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71