You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vulnerablity=Growth

in #vulnerability7 years ago (edited)

You said: 'Every day I give up on humanity and every day someone gives me faith and hope again.'

I go through the exact same thing. And always, someone, either directly or indirectly, comes around to pull me back up.

Today, for me, that has been you - with this post, and a few others on here with their own kind and insightful words.

I really do hope you post more about this. And more things like this. Whatever those vulnerable points may be for you. It helps us others to simply to see it coming from someone else and to know we're not alone in feeling that way and maybe having a hard time with it ourselves.

To be vulnerable means not to be afraid.

And that could include a lot of things to be afraid of, but mostly, to me, I think it's fear of rejection that makes us most afraid to be vulnerable. We all have a basic human need to love and be loved and a want to be connected. And, especially when we've been hurt a lot, it's so hard not to fear it happening again, and so we may often feel it's safer to give up, or not even try at all.

We need more of this understanding for each other so we can pull each other up. One day it may be you helping someone and the next it may be someone helping you. And the thing that could have so much healing power to bind us all - to bind and soothe our emotional wounds, is this mutual understanding. Understanding of what we all need on such a basic level and a simple way to share that love when needed. And you've done just that for me today, so thank you.

P.S. It's okay to be emotional. What's not healthy is bottling it up because you're afraid. Expression is beautiful and valid and what makes you the individual that you are, without it (in all its varieties) this world would be a very dull place. And that's why on earth I feel it's ideal that we'd all want to be vulnerable.

Sort:  

Thank you, I appreciate the compliment.

I have been looking forward to thanking you for this beautiful response. I was very hesitant and nervous to put myself out there and share my feelings and thoughts. I went through many excuses as to why I shouldn't. My life gets pretty chaotic and busy so although it may not be as frequent as I'd like, I will be posting more. Your words have in return made a huge impact on me, thank you!!

You're welcome! That's so wonderful to hear. I saw that early in the day after I'd gotten on here, and I thought "wow, this is so me today". I instantly empathized. I had to let you know that, seeing how brave you were being to write something like that.

And now, I say this all the time - everything makes me think of a song. But it's true, it really does. So this is my song for when I just want to be home, to be gone.

I actually have this on my mp3 player and take it with me when I go camping. Laying out there alone at night in a hammock surrounded by nothing but trees, it really does hit the spot for that feeling of just wanting to be away. I think we probably all get that feeling at times. And I don't really think it's probably that unhealthy. We just want to get away from all the noise and go back to what's simple, and what's comforting. I think so many of these reactions in our day are read as negatives, we're taught to read them as negatives. But I really don't think they are. I think they're natural human responses to a world that's just not ideal for how we function best as people.

I do hope you post more. Related to this or whatever you feel you need to share. It will be appreciated, and I'll try and promote it so others will see. (I won't post the song lol, but you've got a friend in me. <3)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62984.33
ETH 2453.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67