Getting Started with Vue.js - My First Steps - Firefox DevTools

in #vuejs7 years ago

I have studied Vue.js before, but I'm getting back into it now with some clearer goals. Within three months, I'd like to be able to build web apps in Vue with data stored in a database. I also want to be able to read other people's code and understand what's going on.

I now have the ability to set aside time to accomplish these goals!

My first steps with Vue

On the recommendation of my "coding buddy" @harps116, I have started with the Vue.js tutorials at Laracasts.com

https://laracasts.com/series/learn-vue-2-step-by-step/

I've gotten through the introduction and I'm starting with the coding.

Vue.js DevTools for Firefox

When I studied Vue before, the DevTools were only available for Google Chrome. I prefer using Firefox, so it was great to see that the official Vue DevTools are now available as a Firefox extension.

VueDevTools-Firefox.jpg

You can get it here: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/vue-js-devtools/

A simple Node.js web server for testing

One thing to note, it seems that the Firefox extension does not have the ability to work off of local files, they must be served from a web server.

So I quickly learned how to install a web server for node.js using NPM:

sudo npm install http-server -g

This installs the http-server system wide for your computer. After installing you can use the which http-server command to verify that it is available and where it is on your file system.

To serve files in a folder, just go to that folder in the Terminal and run:

http-server

You'll see some output telling you it is running. The default port is 8080. So you can view the output of the server in your browser at localhost:8080/

I had named my file index.html, so it was served up automatically. If you named your file something else, you may have to specifically reference it: localhost:8080/myfile.html

Notes on my programming posts

I will not usually be writing "how to" posts on programming, as there are lots of great resources that already do a better job at that than I would. I will have some "how to" stuff, but mostly it will be me sharing my experience.

I will be sharing my thoughts, some code snippets and notes of things that I had to work through or that I found interesting.

Ultimate Goal

To be able to write apps that are in some way connected with blockchain tech and crypto. I'd like to be part of this revolution that's happening. There's such potential with crytpo to give more freedom to regular people.

-- @matthewdavid

Sort:  

hi @matthewdavid this would have been a great utopian contribution. Why not post it there?

I will be exploring utopian.io soon. Thanks for reminding me to check it out.

Very nice, I will enjoy reading about your progress! Check out this list once you have wrapped your head around the basics: https://github.com/vuejs/awesome-vue/blob/master/README.md.

Again, you have taught me something, @matthewdavid - I also thought that the Vue.js dev tools were only available for Chrome, but since Mozilla’s Quantum update for Firefox, I much prefer this browser.

Thank you for your continued posts.

This is interesting, I would like to take course of something like this, and you have a great idea growing on your mind.

There are a number of great courses. The Laracasts one that I mention in the post is a good place to start.

Have you had some experience programming before? If not, I'd be happy to share some of my experience and the resources I used while learning the basics.

Thanks for your comment!

may be i reasteam your post sir

This is really educative and useful
Thanks for sharing this sir @matthewdavid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45