C’mon YouTube add a 360video VR theater option to regular videos already!

in #vr7 years ago (edited)

 

I love 360 videos. I love watching them in Virtual Reality. I even think it’s great to watch films in VR on a giant screen. (like Netflix, Oculus Video or phonecast)

It’s the future. Google/YouTube pioneered the technology, but they are slow to use it to its’ full potential. Where are the 360 commercials? Where are the virtual theaters?

YouTube VR is the killer app for PSVR already. So… how come its been almost 3 years and YouTube has yet to release a theater option for watching regular videos in a VR format on their Google CardboardVR headsets.

Google is advancing way more slowly than I would expect from a multi billion dollar company with thousands of ‘genius’ employees.I mean, c’mon, it wouldn’t be that hard to add the feature.See? Take a look.I made some quick samples using Rick and Morty videos as proof of concept.

Rick and Morty Lose Yourself and Show me what you got Eminem music video in 4k 360 for VR viewing
This Rick and Morty Lose Yourself, Show me what you music video compilation, Emi...veer.tv

They could even create a variety of Theater options to select from.

( I love the idea of animation in VR)

Animation in VR
by Zen— www.ThisIsMeInVR.commedium.com

But It seems like both Video companies and AR companies still don’t get the implications of the awesomeness of Split-Screen landscape mode. (VR mode)

Load your Augmented Reality apps into a headset for hands-free demos! (just like 360 VR videos)
Have you seen a 360 video? Sure you have. Awareness about them has been spreading rapidly. Basically Accelerometers and…medium.com

If they did, when I open a video on YouTube, there would be an option to load it up into a 360 video theater of my choice.

How about a drive in theater on the moon (like oculus video)

or an underwater theater!How cool is that!Hopefully it won’t be too much longer before they add this cool feature.If you have a contact at Google or YouTube’s R&D department.Send them my way, I’ve got a ton of innovations for them.

Zen @ ThisIsMeInVR.com - Medium
Read writing from Zen @ ThisIsMeInVR.com on Medium. ThisIsMeInVR is a Canadian innovation company specializing in AR/VR…medium.com
 

Sort:  

all video super !

thanks! I try. :-) lots more on my YouTube channel. https://www.youtube.com/c/thisisme360vr

Perhaps Dtube will implement VR soon.

That would be amazing.

Y E S >>>>> And once they enable 360 video viewing in VR , then they need to add some VR theaters to be able to watch all the rest of their content in VR. (Beat YouTube to it!)

The #ReadyPlayerOne Trailer could've been made as an awesome immersive #VR experience.

I made a sample to show you how #360video could've been used for #marketing and promotion. I guess I out-innovated #Hollywood with this idea.

https://veer.tv/videos/hi-res-ready-player-one-360-video-vr-trailer-theater-experiment-122631

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72