Try Your Hand At VR for only $25 🎮 VR Shinecon ReviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #vr8 years ago (edited)

I had been seeing more content online about Virtual Reality and the headsets coming out. I was intrigued and I think the market is going to take off soon. 

I did some research and decided to test the waters with an inexpensive VR setup to see if I liked the experience.

Through some googling and watching video reviews, I settled on the VR Shinecon 2. 

I picked up the headset on Amazon for around $25

I also purchased a remote from the same company. A remote is extremely useful for selecting and clicking items while wearing the headset. It easily connects via bluetooth. 

The remote can also be purchased on Amazon for around $10.

Review

I rather like the setup, and feel that is is well worth the investment. The headset includes adjustments on the top for the depth of the lenses and how close or wide your prefer the lenses. Not all headsets have this feature.

The padding is nice on the part that has contact with your face.

The lenses seem to be high quality. 

The phone tray is adjustable. I now have the Galaxy S7 Edge and it fits easily. I had a Note7 and I believe that device would fit as well.

The top strap is necessary for the size of this headset. It weighs a bit more than the Google Daydream, but costs much less.  

With this headset you will need a VR capable phone. Most of the new Androids have this capability. I have been using my Galaxy S7 Edge in the headset and it works great. I believe the new iphones are VR capable too.

For content I have been using Samsung VR and Youtube for the most part. 

Youtube's Google Cardboard option lets you turn any 360 video into a virtual reality experience.

Just look for this button on your phone, once you have started playing a video in the Youtube app :

I will make a post shortly with some of my favorite Youtube VR videos.

Here are a few pictures of me and my girlfriend @curiouser having fun with the VR headset.

I highly recommend this VR headset for anyone looking to check out the VR scene. It is inexpensive and really fun. I personally have had a taste of VR and now I want more. I will be on the lookout for a more capable VR setup as the market grows. 

VR with phones is great, but the graphics and processing power of a phone is limited. To have truly immersive experiences and detailed games will required a dedicated gaming system or computer. We are already seeing Playstation enter the VR market alongside Oculus Rift and Google. I can't wait to see what they build over the next few years.

How we view and enjoy media is going to change bigtime with VR. 

I now see what all the fuss is about and I encourage you to check it out too.

Image sources: amazon.com, Youtube.com 

All other pictures are my own.

Sort:  

Get a hold of a Gear VR as soon as you can for the next step up. Or Daydream I bet too. I have used one of the Shinecon type headsets and they are neat but for long term play and just a next level of depth because of gyroscopes worked in the other headsets, it really is a step up.

Great review and thanks for sharing, for $25 though you just can't go wrong to at least have a taste of vr.

What, I guess I need to do a review of the Daydream now? :D

Yes, :) You are now obligated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49