🌎 Google Earth VR - I Just Skied Down the Slopes of Everest [VR app showcase]

in #vr8 years ago (edited)

Explore Earth in VR

I found out today that Google released Google Earth VR for the HTC Vive. I downloaded the app when I got home, and let me just say it is jaw-dropping amazing! The ability to fly around any place on Earth and in human scale is simply breathtaking.

Seeing the Earth from space is also quite the experience, I felt a sense of awe and vulnerability, being alone in space is actually kind of scary! I wonder if this is what astronauts feel?

Photographer's Tool

I can literally spend hours in this app, there is just so much to explore. I can use it to scout locations ahead of time, and find new and fresh vantage points to compose my photos. I can see this being used by photographers worldwide once VR becomes mainstream.

Right now, many cities still lack full 3D, but I think in time that'll change. If they add in the ability to change time, then this app can be used to plan shots with moon/sun/milky way at a certain time of the year ahead of time! The possibilities are really endless.

Screenshots of Places I Visited so Far

"Christ the Redeemer - Rio de Janeiro, Brazil"

"Summit of Mount Everest - Nepal"

I moved the sun to near the horizon and watched a simulated sunrise from Everest. I then "skied" down its slopes!

"Colosseum - Rome, Italy"

I went inside the Colosseum and took a seat in one of the upper areas.

"Grand Prismatic Spring - Wyoming, USA"

This place looks amazing even in VR, I also flew up into the nearby mountains to see if I could get interesting views of the spring from up there.

"Horseshoe Canyon - Utah, USA"

Standing on the edge and looking down into the canyon. I also flew onto the other side, just to see what it looks like from over there.

"Monument Valley Park - USA"

I flew around pretending to be a drone to compose this shot. I changed the sun to just above the horizon to get a nice red color.

"Tokyo Tower - Japan"

One of the few cities with 3D buildings to explore in Google Earth VR.


Hope you enjoyed this post! I strive hard to provide quality content :)

Critiques and comments are welcomed!

Sort:  

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 18 Nov 2016 - 16:26 UTC

Google Earth VR - I Just Skied Down the Slopes of Everest — Steemit

steemit.com/vr/@shieha/goo… / https://t.co/xbjlwkhxJn

@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Oh cool.....I'll have to check this out.

That's pretty fun. One new thing I have been getting into 360 video. I think that is super fun. I see a lot of criticism of it on youtube but I think the technology is refreshing and I welcome it. It's on my santa list for myself. Have a great weekend!

We live in exciting times :)
You have a good weekend too!

It looks interesting. This is for only HTC phone, right?

I think currently it's out for the HTC Vive virtual reality headset for the PC.

Thanks for the information. ☺

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.36 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51367.14
ETH 2266.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01