oculus vr tabletennis comparison --- racket fury vs eleven

in #vr6 years ago

tl;dr
In my personal opinion.
Racket Fury is Fun, Eleven not so much!

Longer Analysis.

I've been playing Racket Fury for some time now and got to test Eleven during the free weekend on oculus store.
My real life table tennis experience is quite well, as I had a table at my office and was playing with a co-worker daily for at least a year. Apart from many many hours in my youth.

Racket Fury:

When you start you get 2 options to choose from: Simulation and Arcade.

The simulation mode just feels good. Once you adjust the table and paddle position, I almost think it's the real deal.
You get to play "tournaments" which is just one opponent that has to be beat in best of 3 sets to unlock the next one.

Of course they get significantly harder. That's the whole tournament mode, and it's satisfying. Even if I now am at countless hours against one bot which I can't pass I can play hours in a session because It just feels like fun!

Then you get a Training mode where you can set a x-y position on your table side as well as spin and precision of each parameter.
The bot just always returns whatever you throw at him, and it really helps getting better at whatever shot you're training.
Side note.
I do this and let some spanish audio lessons run in the background, or with the new oculus home feature you can even place windows behind / above the bot, so you can watch a movie whilst playing.

The simulation level feels good enough. It's fun to hit the ball and the bot never plays too short or to crazy diagonal so you get problems by your non-ability to move in vr like you would in real life.

There's no multiplayer yet, but a menu entry with "coming soon"... ( I can live with that)

And then there's Arcade Mode.

It's exactly the same game except, the ball gets sound effects and you get some help hitting your shots.
How they do that is hard do describe, but it doesn't feel like cheating. It just feels right again.
You hit the shots like you want them to go, but usually fail in real life (at least for a good percentage).

I like both modes and switch between them without being disturbed.

Negatives: It's a bit hard to adjust the paddle settings. Also you can adjust the table height freely, but I would like to have a button to measure it in so it's the correct height a table has to be.

Now to

Eleven.

I think the focus on Eleven is more on being a simulation with multiplayer.

And I think they totally fail with that.

When I fist tried it, it felt like I'm playing with some cheap cardboard paddles.
You have to hit hard and overall it just doesn't feel like fun.
Also the bot always plays very short balls so you actually have to move inside the table.
The single player modes are just playing against an opponent where you can select the difficulty.
If you win or lose one set, you can replay or go to the main menu. That's it.

Have I said, it doesn't feel like fun?
Yeah! Where you get a subtle sound when you lose a point in Racket Fury, in Eleven you see a red light and a loud buzzer sound.
No fun!

Apart from that you get constant game invitations from other people that you can't disable.

So... the bonus for eleven is there is multiplayer, but honestly I didn't even try it, because I imagined it also will be No Fun.

My lesson that developers could learn from Eleven vs Racket Fury is:
you guessed it:
Make it fun!

I think we're not at a time where you can get a simulation 100% right. So adding something a little more arcady is always a good option.
Use the possibilities a Virtual Reality gives you.

Sort:  

Congratulations @dereremit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71