You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where have the steemit anarchism/voluntaryism celebrities gone?

in #vountaryism7 years ago

I'm trying to wrap myself around the idea that a group of fairly intelligent people with idealistic tendencies (I would characterize anarchism as fairly "idealistic" in the context of the current world) would abandon a place that voluntarily compensates them for their efforts (let's remember, Steemit is not a "job") to head back to a "big corporate" structure that gives them nothing.

Something in there "between the lines" speaks volumes. It's not really mine to judge, but the term "fairweather activist" keeps sitting at the tip of my tongue...

Sort:  

I've heard that Larken at least has been pretty wrapped up in his "Candles in the Dark" seminars. @mattclarke mentioned this. He wasn't too happy with my post here. Someone else mentioned these people are active on their facebook pages, I don't do facebook so I did not verify that.

Although I still have my account, I kind of got cooked with Farcebook after the election... the pervasive whining and petty bickering of Trump/Hillary supporters reminded me of a bunch of grade school kids having an eternal hissy fit. I kept scratching my head, thinking "I thought these were reasonable ADULTS." Everyone's so freakin' shrill and petulant...

Point being that even thought perspectives may be different, there's a level of intelligence and civility on Steemit I have not often seen elsewhere. I still don't get why these people are pouring energy into those platforms... other than (maybe) FOMO?

I agree and understood everything but FOMO. I didn't go google it. What does that mean?

FOMO = Fear Of Missing Out.

Normally used with new issues on the stock market and new technologies of dubious merit... but they sell anyway because of people's fear of missing out.

I even encounter it when encouraging people to join Steemit... they are somehow afraid they are going to "miss out" on something if they are not glued to Farcebook,

They likely are not missing much on facebook. They are missing out by not being here though. :)

Most likely not. But I'm guilty, too... even though I spend very little time there these days, I can't quite bring myself to abandon a couple of groups with 8000+ people and a page with 16000+ "likes." But I mostly keep them for Steemit "prospect mining" purposes...

Hahah.... wow... my dad used to warn me of "Fairweather friends" when I was younger, and that phrase did go through my head as I wrote this article. Strange how you ended up on a similar place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41