You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curation Trails, bad or good for the platform?

in #votingtrail8 years ago

One thing is for sure.. There is a high level of trust demanded for trailing a curator. I have run into issues trailing curators who have a different sensibility than myself. They have voted for things that I simply wouldn't vote for because I think that they are harmful to the platform, regardless of the likelihood of rewards.

For example, a curator who is looking to maximize his return might vote for whalebotted authors who devote the majority of their posts to "featuring" other authors. I personally think that this a practice which degrades the platform in most cases, because the most prominent and prolific of these tend to dedicate most of their efforts to bootstrapping friends and family with little regard for the quality of the content.

If I knew that somebody basically shared my own sensibilities, I'd have very little hesitation in following them.

Sort:  

I agree completely! here is a relevant comment I wrote regarding the "featuring new author" stuff, it's gotta stop now with resteem.

the good thing with blockchain and trust is that sooner or later if it is abused someone will notice it, with more users the chances increase and over time filter out the untrusted users with the ones who really want to improve the content and future of the project.

Maybe we should start voting for those Curators like we do for witnesses?

I think you vote on them by following them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88