You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your real voting power is not the ability to choose which elite will rule over you next.

in #voting8 years ago (edited)

Great points. It's too bad cognitive dissonance is so prevalent. I tried to give a friend who's a law student a pamphlet on jury nullification and he laughed and said he had no desire to become an enemy of the state. That made ME laugh harder lol. He thought it was some liberal crappola a bunch of hippies made up in the 70's. I was shocked to say the least because the guy's a pretty smart individual who, like so many, DO NOT want to believe things are ANY different than what they've been taught and based their entire paradigm on. Like Michael Savage says...it makes people uncooooomfortable lol.

Sort:  

I hear that.

Most people have no idea what cognitive dissonance is and have never heard the term.

Of course, over the years I've found that if I change my language and approach things from different angles I can get most people to come around if given half a chance. The key is to find an approach where you don't challenge peoples belief systems.

For example, when talking about jury nullification, I normally start out by asking about bad laws that the person I'm talking with feel to be completely unjust, move into what they think can be done about them, and then move to asking about what would happen if people simply refused to convict.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49