You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dwin fallacy(In defense of the flag part II)

in #voting8 years ago (edited)

Can you please clarify what you mean by this? I'm assuming it was a joke, but it went over my head ;P

Aren't you the UI guy, or have i got you confused with someone else? (it was just a tounge in cheek way of saying part of it is a UI problem)

Sort:  

doh! i must have gotten some mental wires crossed. I think i saw a couple posts about a release of the NSFW filter, and assumed you were posting them as official dev team announcements.

No problem :) I should probably start mentioning in those posts that I do not officially work for Steemit.

I'm not sure if Steemit will approve it, but I opened up a GitHub issue to make three changes:

  • Rename "Flag" to back to "Downvote"
  • Add an item to the list of acceptable downvoting reasons: "The payout is too high (subjective)"
  • In the downvote popup, add "It is recommended that as a courtesy to the author of the post/comment that you are downvoting, you reply with a comment to let them know the reason you downvoted."

https://github.com/steemit/steemit.com/issues/932

Wow awesome. That said, i think there is some degree of resistence to this.

I finally looked issue 215 and its interesting. Regarding what you brought up... the flag/downvote seperation issue... I don't really see why we need a flag at all. The downvote does everything we need it to do. Besides the fact that we elect to call it a flag, theres nothing about it thats different than a downvote would be.

I finally looked issue 215 and its interesting. Regarding what you brought up... the flag/downvote seperation issue... I don't really see why we need a flag at all. The downvote does everything we need it to do. Besides the fact that we elect to call it a flag, theres nothing about it thats different than a downvote would be.

Renaming it from "flag" to "downvote" does go a long ways towards resolving it. Maybe it is all that is needed (along with the other changes being proposed in 932).

As far as the reason to have two separate options though - I think the idea is that the community would want a way to tell if users are being actually abusive vs. just posting posts that people thought were too highly paid.

In a future state of Steemit where there is a marketplace - I would have concerns about doing business with someone who had 500 flags, but if a flag and a downvote meant the same thing - then I would have no 'warning' for someone who actually did something worthy of 500 'flags'.

In a future state of Steemit where there is a marketplace - I would have concerns about doing business with someone who had 500 flags, but if a flag and a downvote meant the same thing - then I would have no 'warning' for someone who actually did something worthy of 500 'flags'.

Yeah, i see your point. That said, i suspect the 500 flags guy probably makes a new account to use on the marketplace, unless hes both dishonest and stupid.

I think a marketplace would be a great developement, and i can even see it happening, but if it does, there is going to have to be some marketplace-specific reputation/fb system. The current rep system we use (including upvotes. downvotes on posts and reputation score) is insufficient to handle actual commerce.

The github issue was rejected. Looks like we might have to wait for larger UI changes related to flagging/downvotes further down the line.

I'm honored that you would think so, but no. You might be thinking of @roadscape (also named Tim). I have done some work for the UI (like working on the welcome page) and reports about the dev team (such as the Steemit.com development report), but this is just as a member of the community trying to help out. I am not actually employed by Steemit ;)

doh! i must have gotten some mental wires crossed. I think i saw a couple posts about a release of the NSFW filter, and assumed you were posting them as official dev team announcements.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60880.00
ETH 2626.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57