Voting on Comments? Does it Make Sense?

in #voting7 years ago (edited)


Foto: steemit.com

What many people attracts to Steemit is the fact, that you can earn some money for your contributions. I have to admit that I also saw that opportunity for me. As I have already posted on other social media platforms the very idea of blogging was not new to me and it only seemed to me ok to get some rewards for my effords. As you can see on this platform some people earn a lot of money with a single post. Steemit unfortunately allowes to abuse this platform so that always new bots and voting groups appear to get some pieces of the cake. Generally I think voting on articles etc is a good idea.
But what about voting on comments? As someone who posts a comment, yours will be one among of many others, which somehow all compete with each other. The same applies for the author of the article. He/she has to judge how much a comment is worth. I think that is confusing, distracting and takes away a lot of creative energy from the platform. With the possibility to earn by commenting, posts attract comments like a light attracts flies in the dark.
On the other hand you see great comments which are very elaborated and continue the post.

What do you think about this issue?

Sort:  

The rewards on posts incentives the content creation. In the same way voting on comments incentives the debate, incentives feedback.

For this reason I think it is a good idea.

One example. Generally, I upvote the comments on my posts (only good comments). When the people realize that, they will start to give you more comments, comments with proof-of-brain, and this is good for the ecosystem, more discussion, more content creation ;)

I think I am going to see the whole thing a bit more relexed. Thanks.

I think the judgement would be subjective anyway. One could invent one's own rules on how to reward all the different comments.
I am not too serious about this as I tend to follow my inner voice or intuition, completely subjective. If I somehow feel that some followers or those I am following need a bit of moral support, I would help out a little.

So, I apply Buddhism's concept of giving Dana; I would give a minimum votes for ten nice posts which have very little vote everyday. Some people on Steemit are from less developed countries, so I should help out some good posts which come my way. That's very simple for me.

Thank you @kaminchan for your comment. following your inner voice without too much of counting that makes sense. And to help others too!

Personally I feel, when an article gets a response in the form of a well thought out comment, that the content is relatable and has value to a reader. Even more so when the comments lead to an informative debate on the original content. These comments have just as much intellectual and informative value as the original content and deserve the same upvote as the main article. Comments like "LOL", "nice" "wow" just don't have any value and deserves less of an upvote... Just my humble opinion. (See... your post meant something to me and that is way I bothered commenting)

Ok , that's all right. I felt a bit overwhelmed by all that voting. There was a time when we voted only with a slide bar. I found it much easier to deal with. Everything becomes more complex, sophisticated.

I think it is a god idea for the author of a post to vote on good/interesting/challenging/creative comments, since it is a way to create an incentive for feed back between the author and the readers.

Very good posting thankyou

Thanks, but what is your idea about voting on comments?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78